Winter Sowing Update - The Lettuce, Kale and Brussels Sprouts Have Sprouted!

in #seedstarting5 years ago (edited)

Welcome back. About a month ago I posted a video regarding Winter Sowing:

Winter Sowing

This is an interesting technique that involves planting seeds in plastic containers and placing them outside in the cold and snow until germination occurs. This seems crazy and unbelievable, but I have been using this technique for many years now and it works very well. One major advantage is that once the seeds are planted, the containers are placed out side and require absolutely no care until the seeds sprout. So nature takes its course and the seeds will sprout as the weather warms.

This method works best for cold hardy vegetables including lettuce, kale, spinach, Brussels sprouts, Swiss chard, radishes, and similar cold loving veggies. It will also work for perennial flowers and some cold hardy annuals. This year, I planted Romaine and Four Season Lettuces, Kale, and Brussels Sprouts.

I have been checking the containers on a regular basis. On Sunday March 17th I checked the containers and to my surprise the seeds were sprouting! I then proceeded to set up my greenhouse on the front porch which I also coverd in the following post:

Greenhouse Setup

As you can see, the seeds have all germinated very well and are doing well. They will be ready to plant in the garden in early to mid May depending on the weather.

plants1.jpg

plants2.jpg

For more information on winter sowing:

Winter Sowing

Sort:  

Very interesting setup. Good luck for your crops!

Congratulations on being featured by @viking-ventures in an entry for the Pay It Forward Contest

I'm intrigued by your method. I have often struggled with planting brassicas - they'd do very well and then just die. I can see where planting in the cold will help to keep their early growth slower, thus creating a stronger plant. How cold do you think they can stand? (I live in Wyoming, so I wouldn't have thought they'd want all winter...)

I loved your post so much that I decided to feature you in this week's Pay it Forward Curation Contest. Keep up the great work!

Thank you so much. Once the seeds sprout, then you have to treat them as any other seedlings, bringing them in at night if below freezing, etc.

Such a wonderful idea. I must admit, I've been told countless times to not put the seeds outside when it's too cold, they may not 'wake up' Seems the opposite is true.

You were featured in week 51 of @pifc's Pay It Forward Curation Contest by @viking-ventures. @pifc is a Pay It Forward Community which believes in by helping others grow we build a stronger community. We run this contest each week, it is open to everyone. It's a great way to show off people you find that might need some more exposure or meet new people

Thanks for the comment, winter sowing does work very well. Thanks for featuring me in the contest!

You're very welcome :)

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.19
TRX 0.15
JST 0.029
BTC 63183.53
ETH 2643.93
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.78