Selecting Seeds to Grow this year [Gardening]

in #seeds7 years ago

This is one of my favorite times of the year when I get to start planning which seeds to grow for the next growing season.

IMG_20180101_214144.jpg

Above are some of my early picks.

The reason I set these ones out is because these are all good plants for starting indoors, and then moving outside. I had a hard time growing most of these last year. The new year always represents an opportunity for a second chance, so that's why I want to grow all of these again. Most of them didn't naturalize well from indoor to outdoor, because we didn't have a very sunny Spring last year. All of these did pick up in growth late in the fall, but by then it was too late to bear fruit.

The only exception to this would be the Rapunzel Tomatoes which hardly needed much help all. I pruned those little seedlings down a bunch to help firm up their stalks, and they grew like champs all season.

Not pictured above, I am also going to take another shot at growing Lady #Lavender. Last year I attempted to grow True Lavender and Lady Lavender. They were very hard to sprout, and required a lot of patience and trust. Eventually, I had two True's growing, and one Lady growing, but my mother knocked the seedlings over, and only one of the True's survived. It seems to be winterizing really well on its own. My hope is that my lavender will help me out with controlling the slug population while also producing beautiful fragrant flowers for the pollinating insects.

IMG_20180101_214205.jpg

This is where I store my seeds.

I separate them by date, but I'm thinking it might be better to separate them by variety from now on.

seedsnowcart1.jpg

I like using seedsnow.com as they specialize in organic seeds. Every time I order from them they have been wonderful with shipping on time, and they almost always include a bonus seed gift. They are probably a little bit more expensive than other seed stores though.

Here's the items I'm considering getting:

Never grown any of these before, so I would like to try them out. I have become especially fond of eating turnips in soups. Having more leafy vegetables would be great too. I'm getting tired of having lettuce as my only leafy veggy in the garden.

Only one problem.

This year I also want to grow tobacco, but seedsnow.com does not carry these seeds for sale. I learned here on steemit that tobacco is a wonderful insecticide, so I think that would be a fantastic addition to the garden. Plus the leaves are sticky, and might catch some of the gnats and mosquitoes.

A lot of people also enjoy giving away free seeds to their friends and followers. Last year a youtuber was kind enough to send me Chicory seeds, and they were extremely easy to grow. Hopefully they will bloom for me this year. He said they bloom in the spring after their first winter.

Another wonderful source for free seeds this year is my favorite gardening youtuber, praxxus55712. This year he is promising to give away all kinds of popular seed varieties to everyone around the world who sends him a stamped envelope. The only thing he asks is that you try not to be wasteful. Please only request seeds if you really to use them for gardening this year.

Be sure to act soon if you want to participate in the #freeseedgiveaway. Shipping instructions are in the video description on youtube, so click here to view the video description and comments.


Hope you enjoyed my post today.

Post feedback in the comments below.

  • Where you do like to shop for specialty seeds?

  • Do you ever participate in seed exchanges?

  • What are your experiences growing any of the herbs and vegetables I listed above?

Sort:  

I went a little wild when buying and swapping seeds this year. I hink I have so many kinds of veggies I can fill a space that's 5 times our backyard.
It's going to be hard to pick the ones I'm actually going to plant - or maybe I just take over our font yard and plant them all :-)

Good for you. Try something new. Don't let it all go waste though by drastically changing your garden from what has worked. Sometimes one thing can really alter the symbiosis of a successful crop. I am still learning which plants work well next to each other, and in which places in the yard they will succeed.

Wow great gardening one..I appreciate to your blog...Best of luck..

Thank you friend. :)

i love seedsnow for their 99 cent options! it's an easy way to try something out, to make sure it grows. i've used them for kale, chard, radish, turnip (indeed, great in soup or roasted) plus lots of herbs.

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.19
TRX 0.14
JST 0.030
BTC 60078.84
ETH 3197.52
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.45