You are viewing a single comment's thread from:

RE: Warning to users using third party applications - Be extremely careful providing your keys to anyone or any site!

in #security7 years ago

I'm sorry I missed this post during the voting time, but I wonder if you'd answer a question - this is the first explanation I've seen of these keys that seems to make things very clear (thank you!). To clarify - are you saying that we should login to steemit with the keys rather than our password? I've never heard that or realized it was a possibility!

Sort:  

It is best to only login with your private posting key, and then only use your private active key when doing STEEM/SBD transactions. Your password/owner key is best to only use if/when you need to change your password/keys.

Thank you! So...is there an easy way to enter the long string of letters/numbers to login? (I imagine saving them in the browser or whatever would be defeating the purpose?)

I have them stored electronically in a text file, so I can copy/paste. You can keep it on a burned CD or flash drive so that it is offline when you are not using it.

Okay, thank you!

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.19
TRX 0.15
JST 0.029
BTC 63459.73
ETH 2599.77
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.78