How to cheat at Facebook games ~TnkSecurity

in #security7 years ago

     Hello, my name is Tsinik and I will try and help coders or players stop their annoying friends from spamming them with game challenges. Today we start with an easy game called "Everewing" since it is the easiest to cheat. Most games can be cheated using the same technique but I will explain how things work so that you understand what we are doing.

     I have a "bad" habit of finding ways to complete challenges they sent me, but not in the way they are supposed to. This habit started when I was testing some games made by a company I used to work to and by wanting to beat the game I figured out how things worked. Then a friend of mine told me he needed help cheat proofing a game for his company so I learnt even more stuff by testing his game.

     The few things you need to understand are:

  • What variables are presented to the user.
  • Which variables are global.
  • What info is being sent to the server and when.
  • In what form is that info being said.
  • Which functions do what.

(if there is no server and it's a single player game the only thing you need is cheat engine)

If your game keeps sending information you would want to use Firefox for the TamperData tool.

Else you just use Chrome since its console is extremely easy to use and understand.

Now for part 1 we will be cheating at Everwing since it constructs everything locally and at the end it just sends a value to the server. 

This is the game:

Now generally you would go find the js file and see what does what.

After changing parts of the code to see what breaks, I realize that everything is already constructed since whatever I change, nothing breaks. So then we take it to the console. There the console will be focused on the top site, so we need to change its focus to the game.

Now it's only a matter of what variable is what. We find that there is a GCC variable in the Object Window ( which is our main object). In that GC we find the APP. Then we see that in this APP we can get the gameModel where we now see all the constructed variables. So the point so far was to find which object meant what.

Then I changed every variable to see what changed. I played around with speeds, skins and powers but in the end the only thing you need is the "commonEarned" where that is the score.

Finally you just type the score you want to start with and just hit play. Then you just kill yourself in the game on the first mob you find and finish with a score way higher than any score your scrub friends can get. GG WP!

Unfortunately I wasn't able to finish with my 80085 score but I do hold the highscore.

     I hope this was an ok first tutorial and if you liked it do leave an upvote and a comment with a suggestion of what to do next and I will do what I can. Also be sure to check the rest of my post and maybe you will find something else you like. Thank you for giving me a chance. Hope you read my next article. Goodbye.

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.15
TRX 0.12
JST 0.025
BTC 55425.80
ETH 2363.69
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.34