Under Lock and Key

in #security7 years ago (edited)

I am looking for some advice.

Over the last 10 months, my password list has exploded with a whole range of various accounts at exchanges, wallets, Steemit etc. Each of them has some value (potentially only sentimental) in them that I would like to be able to pass on to my wife and child in the case of unforseen events.

With cryptocurrencies, this is much easier said than done from my limited experience as each coin, each wallet, each account is handled in a different way. Let's just say that my wife is not a technological wizard so if she must deal with this, it is unlikely she is going to be able to manage well.

What I am wondering is of there is some kind of device/program that can store all data, passwords, instructions securely and is relatively simple to use. If not, why not?

I am assuming that I am not the only one that would need this or at least a decent step-by-step guide on the best way to handle such things.

I think that in the coming months and years, the simplification of the cryptosphere must take place in order for mass adoption. Currently, it is much too difficult for the average user to get involved and manage all of the various activities and have the peace of mind in case something happened.

Personally, I have worked really hard to get to this point and I want that my wife and daughter are able to see the benefits of it one day, even if I am not.

Any advice is appreciated.

Taraz
[ a Steemit original ]

Sort:  

USB stick and your own written instructions, maybe? Calling some crypto enthusiasts maybe they can give us some advice.

This is what I am wondering. There must be a more uniform way. What if I forget something in the instructions? A usb with a program to handle it would be nice.

My husband and I have struggled with some of these same issues (I tend to struggle with technology). For what it's worth, this suggestion..with your proposed modification of a program to handle it, sounds like a workable solution (at least in our case). I'd be interested in knowing if you come up with something that works.

I got handed a link to a USB just a moment ago by @m31

https://shop.nitrokey.com/shop

But, it still doesn't solve the issue completely. If there was some kind of program installed that would make sure all relevant data was input it may be a great solution. My worry is that I will forget something...

you need to use KeePass - it is an open source solution with the best encryption - and it doesn't use any cloud storage or service.

being open source, means there's many clients. If you use KeePass2Android, you can store your database file in your google drive to ensure you never lose your db file, and android has an integrated keyboard app that allows you to enter passwords to sites with an automated 2 click mapping process. it's honestly great -

I've never been one for password managers - i can't imagine life without this one

obviously if you use google drive to store your database you want to make sure you use 2fa to protect your account.

and as others have suggested, USB is also an alternative to store your keepass database.

let me know if you have any questions about it.
It is great on android - an app

I will definitely check this one out too, thanks very much and will get back to you if needs be :)

You haven’t heard of this app called 1password?

And that makes it easy for my wife (or beneficiary) to access in 5, 10 or 20 years?

A usb stored with a step by step guide - 'instruction for dummies', kind of thing, to access everything...?

yes. the instruction for dummies is the hard part as I am one of them. It would be nice to have someone compile a ersion that takes into account everything a dummy may miss

thats easy - simply write everything down - (you can include the passwords but i wouldn't recommend it. lol), and email it to me.

I'm sure i'd qualify for a 'dummy' test run..

This would be super super helpful.. very curious to see what you find out

There must be a way that simplifies the entire process.

Norton ID safe

Would that be enough for your wife to work everything out?

Yep. I have 113 passwords with supporting notes. Bank accounts, passport details, tax details, code to gun safe/gold and silver, phone and contact details for everyone she’ll need to know. It’s pretty good. Also syncs with my computer and phone. I used another one previously and this is far better. It’s got a couple of layers of security plus fingerprint. Works for me. In the advent of me kicking the bucket that and a call to our lawyer will have her sorted out.

I also uploaded my master password (in coded format) to my Dropbox as a back up so I don’t forget it.

Lastpass is Yet Another Password Manager (I say because there's been a couple mentioned) and has a "premium" service that lets you grant access to your "vault" to someone else, so if both you and wifey had accounts with it, you could either share the vaults or make yours accessible to her [some specified timeframe] after you've not accessed it, or something to that effect.

I sound like a terrible ad. Ergh. Anyway sorry for not being the clearest or best "salesperson" for it, been a while since I read the beneificiary thingi (slightly ironic as that's what I originally got onto it to investigate). Something else to check out if you feel like anyway :)

goatsig

I use Lastpass and I am happy with the service.

Simply share your master password to the people you trust when you feel ready and rest is taken care of.

Good luck!

Handy this - updating my security is on my xmas to do list! I've heard lastpass is most effective.

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.17
TRX 0.15
JST 0.028
BTC 61940.19
ETH 2433.78
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.50