Why you should use a password manager

in #security5 years ago

Data breaches are getting more common, and passwords are constantly exposed. To make this problem worse, people reuse their passwords across multiple websites, which is a huge danger. The easiest way for hackers to access your accounts is to find a site whose data has been leaked, and then they try using the same password on a bunch of other websites.

Your passwords are only as secure as the sites to which you entrust them. And if any one of those websites gets breached, every single place you’ve used that password or variant thereof is now in danger. That is not a good system.
You should ALWAYS use a unique password everywhere, and a password manager is the best way to get this done, so that you don't have to remember 100 different unique logins.

I go through what to look for in a good password manager, how to create a strong password, and the common mistakes people make.

Sort:  

Yes password managers are crucial.

I recommend https://bitwarden.com/ since it has cloud storage (convenient) while being open source. Lastpass, dashlane, etcetera are closed source, which is a non-starter for me.

Thanks for the recommendation!

do you know a password manager that accepts Bitcoin payments?

I think bitwarden does

These are useful tips and the idea of storing all the passwords in a single master key protected on the cloud vault is even more terrifying. However, I'll check those 3 recommended vaults and night use one of them.
Side question: what do you think of mega.nz as a cloud service? They do offer 50 GB free and difficult passwords setup with some key?

I actually don't know anything about the service you recommend, I generally take my recommendations from organizations that specialize in digital security like freedom of the press foundation

As always your are spot on #skycorridors. You always make me feel so unprotected and not up with the game. Haha it won't happen to me, I am taking it all onboard and getting me secure. Problem is all these options normally cost and I know your can't price security but money doesn't grow trees so it's a tough call. Thankfully this time there are free options, signed up 💯🐒

So glad you've found the videos helpful!

Password managers are crucial tools but you should always ensure that the manager database is properly encrypted and secure. Online hosted password managers like BitWarden, 1Password etc posses the risk of getting compromised since the server is controlled by a third party. It is my personal recommendation to either self-host such services or use a more orthodox offline managers, such as KeePassXC and make regular offline backups.

Absolutely, that's why I was specific in the managers I recommended, which also do that.

Hello @skycorridors, sorry for the inconvenience but I have been following your work and wanted to congratulate you. I have decided to do a concert with my band highlighting the ability of music to unite a whole world. Regardless of the language or country. And I wanted to see if you wanted to collaborate, just by sending a small video inviting people to attend, we would give your name and invite our followers to see your work ... I hope you are interested, and respond to this message ...

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.16
TRX 0.15
JST 0.029
BTC 57190.65
ETH 2409.68
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.28