Apple vs Android: Simplified

in #security8 years ago (edited)

Photo credit: HARDWARE 360 

Working in the IT field, this one is always a huge debate. I actually own both because I'm addicted to new technology. But, its entertaining watching people argue back and forth about which is better and why. Its like Coca-Cola vs Pepsi. Each side stands by their brand and people that say they can't tell the difference are dumb. (I'm a Coca-Cola man myself by the way.) I was going to write this long elaborate article comparing iPhone and Android and then explaining in which case you would want to use each phone but I'm a very to the point person so I'm just going to explain each using a paragraph.  


If you want an simple, user friendly phone that just works, go with the iPhone.

Back in the day when I was hardcore Android, I've always told other people that the iPhone is the phone that you buy your non-tech savvy relative. Even though I own an iPhone myself, I stand by this statement. The interface is very user friendly. The apps just work. If you have any issues with your phone, Apple tech support is there to help. There's no Google tech support or Samsung tech support and even if there is, it probably doesn't compare to AppleCare.  You could take it to your carrier but chances are their support will be limited as well. Because of Apple's all-in-one package of owning the software and the hardware, it allows them to provide better support. It could also be argued that its what makes development on the iPhone easier which is why some of the big social media apps were on iOS before Android. (Instagram, Snapchat, Vine.)


If you're about phone choices, hardware specs and customization, go with Android.

Samsung has always been one step ahead of Apple when it comes to specs. Also, with a rooted Android device, you can customize almost every aspect of the phone from the icons to the type of lockscreen password. With multiple manufactures of Android phone, you have many choices of phones. I can never let go of Android because I'm the type of person that likes tinkering with everything. Not to mention, most of my favorite bitcoin apps are Android only because Apple's app store standards.  I also love the fact that I can view files like a thumb drive which makes file management easier. I'm not stuck with using iTunes to manage my music and I'm not stuck with one format of audio and video to use either. The widgets are awesome too.


Which one is more secure?

My opinion is debatable but I've always said that an unjailbroken iPhone is one of the most secure phones that you can own. The reason that I make this argument is for one reason and one reason alone: Updates. Whenever there is a serious vulnerability that needs to be patched, Apple has always been good about pushing out an iOS update within a couple of days. Not to say that Google doesn't but it doesn't always get out to all the phones. That is the problem with multiple phone manufacturers. You're relying on Samsung or Motorola or LG to push out the updates. Sometimes, the manufacturer refuses to update your phone to try and force you to upgrade and buy a new phone. You never get that problem with Apple. But that's why with Android, I try to get root access and run a rom that is constantly updated like Cyanogenmod. Only then, do I feel comfortable on Android. 


So what do you think? Which is better and why? I would like to debate this some more. Maybe there's something I missed or I'm wrong about.

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.25
TRX 0.11
JST 0.034
BTC 63202.55
ETH 3085.17
USDT 1.00
SBD 3.85