Watch out Ransomware's about.

in #security7 years ago (edited)

petya-1024x567.png

After the latest ransomeware, I thought I'd have a dig around the internet to see what I could find and see if it's possible to prevent it and what I found was extremely interesting.

With the latest wave of ransomeware Petya, if you haven't done so already I would suggest install Microsofts latest patch which can be found here.

https://technet.microsoft.com/en-us/library/security/ms17-010.aspx

If you are technically minded and know what you are doing to, it is recommend you block network access to port 445 on your Windows workstations.

For full details on what I found head on over here:
https://www.wordfence.com/blog/2017/06/petya-ransomware/?utm_source=list&utm_medium=email&utm_campaign=062717-2

and I strongly suggest you watch the video in the link it certainly is an eye opener on who a workstation can become infected.

Once again the payment was expcted in Bitcoin, which again the mainstream fake news gave Bitcoin a bad name, I just hope the real Bitcoin users don't get put off from using bitcoin and these continued attack don't hit the price of bitcoin to hard.

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.17
TRX 0.13
JST 0.027
BTC 61059.95
ETH 2677.49
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.61