You are viewing a single comment's thread from:

RE: Be Careful My Friends; Your Personal Security Matters

in #security7 years ago (edited)

This information is all too commonly ignored. Thank you for the post!

Additionally, even if a motivated adversary has trouble finding actionable intelligence on you, they can easily gather plenty from your friends, family and coworkers who practice much less discretion.

So, it doesn't hurt to have conversations with your family or very close friends regarding keeping private lives private, even if they feel like they "have nothing to hide."

Sort:  

True! You talk to them about it, and then they ignore what you said. I've had that happen in my family. A past associate, who I have no desire to talk to, calls my sibling. The sibling gives them my address, phone number, etc. /sigh

There's a tip here to share too. Any time ANYONE is asking for contact information from you for someone else, tell them "Give me your contact information, and I'll give it to them." Then, if the person really wants to be contacted, they will make the connection. No harm is done if they do not.

PI's get a lot of requests to "find my ex." Yeah, uhm, nope. Sometimes, depending on the circumstances, a PI will find the person. However, they do not provide the information to the client. They will give the subject the seekers information. Then the subject can decide if they want to make contact or not.

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.32
TRX 0.11
JST 0.031
BTC 68072.80
ETH 3780.85
USDT 1.00
SBD 3.72