A huge trend concerning security of crypto riches. Robbery cases in 2017/2018.steemCreated with Sketch.

in #security6 years ago

IMG_6438.JPG
Last coindesk article got me thinking about the future of the cryptocurrency security. Here's my conclusions.
Now we are just at the begging of cases concerning offline theft of cryptocurrency riches.
We have seen just a couple of such cases in 2017/2018, but that happened in many countries all over the world. I'll write down a history of all of them

know crypto robbery cases

Pavel Lerner

Pavel was kidnapped in Ukraine, Kiev, in December 2017. He was the leader of EXMO exchange, and he was released only after paying 1 mln $. Source

Pavel Nyashin

Russian blogger, Pavel Nyashin, was robbed last week. People in Mercedes got into his house with guns, beaten him and stolen a case with ~500,000 $. He was robbed maybe because he was 'boasting' so much about his wealth on his YouTube channel.

Crypto trader from UK

Just another case of armed robbery, first of this type in England. 29th january, 2018. Coindesk article The man gave his bitcoins at the gunpoint.

Canadian cryptocurrency exchange

24th january. Canadian exchange office was almost robbed. Some armed men got into their office and tried to steal the money.

worsening situation in 2018

There is a small doubt that the situation will worsen in 2018. We already have robberies in Ukraine, Russia, UK, Canada and US.

solutions

One thing is to store your money in Ledger S, and another thing when some guys with weapons come to your house and put a gun at you. The solution, I believe, is in keeping low profile, and do not talk to almost anyone about how much money you have in crypto

thank you for reading, keep low profile and stay safe. @ontheverge

Sort:  

You are right about keeping the low profile, as everyone boasting with wealth is a potential target. I'd never show off what I got, only to people close to me.

That's good, but can you say confidently that you have never ever told anyone about how much crypto you own? :)

Yes, mainly because I don't own a lot, so it's not like a big deal. I told a good friend of mine, and he got into steemit recently too, sooo I guess I know what he has too? XD

very nice post about another side of security in the cryptoenvironment!
I absolutely agree with you that it is best not to talk about concrete numbers.

Yeah, but tell me the truth, you also at least once told someone about how much you have, don't you ;))

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.18
TRX 0.13
JST 0.028
BTC 57286.76
ETH 2998.80
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.26