You are viewing a single comment's thread from:

RE: Who might be interested in my data? And why should I care?

in #security8 years ago

Great points, and great reminder to always be mindful of privacy, especially given the immutable and open nature of many blockchain networks. With the push by the cryptocurrency community to get more people involved, are we thinking hard enough about the privacy risks involved? I would guess that as the monetary benefits of cryptocurrency platforms become more apparent to non-technical users, more people might start to pile onto these platforms without an informed view of what's happening to their data. I don't think we've seen it yet (correct me if I'm wrong), but it'll be interesting to see if there are any backlashes by privacy advocates, EU governments, etc. against immutable blockchain platforms like Steemit like there have been against other big social media sites.

Sort:  

Thanks for your thoughts. This is exactly what I'm looking at right now and I've a couple of articles I'm drafting where I investigate this, as well as the general state of things. I'm hoping to get people thinking about this and see if my ideas stand up to scrutiny.

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.20
TRX 0.12
JST 0.029
BTC 61604.80
ETH 3444.70
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.50