Opera protects you from crypto mining scripts, + How to protect yourself in Chrome or Firefox

in #security6 years ago

Did you know that some websites have been maliciously mining cryptocurrencies in the background? This is sort of old news, but it kind of got swept under the rug; so I figured I’d catch you up to speed.

Anyway a week or so ago Opera announced that they would automatically block any scripts that attempted to mine cryptocurrencies in the background. From their blog:

Everyone is talking about Bitcoins these days. Their sudden rise in value resulted in the fact that more and more people set out to mine them by running shady scripts on the PCs of unsuspecting users. This situation might sound familiar: your CPU is suddenly working at 100 percent capacity, the fan is going crazy for seemingly no reason and your battery is quickly depleting. These are signs someone might be using your computer to mine for cryptocurrency, […] it’s a problem which affects approximately 500 million people. We […] have a built-in solution to keep miners from trespassing onto your machine.

Simply turn on the built in adblock and it should automatically block any website’s attempt to mine cryptocurrencies with your computer.

Don’t use Opera?

I don’t really use it much either. If you’re looking to protect yourself from a sneaky website mining with your computer while using Firefox or Chrome then try using No Coin or SafeScript in Chrome, or NoScript in Firefox.

I don’t know how to protect you if you use Internet Explorer, Safari, Edge, or any other browser. Sorry.





Thanks for reading.
Did you like my post? Check out other content by me and consider subscribing.

This information is provided solely "as is" and it's up to you to decide what to do with the information you received.
Sort:  

Thanks for this post. Very important information for us, hope we can gain some further exposure for your post with the resteems.

Mozilla user myself so the added info for other browsers was appreciated big time.

This post has been resteemed as part of the Steemit Newbie Resteem Initiative. If you need a hand with anything then you can find us at #newbieresteemday.

Hey mate, sorry it took so long to resteem (I was at work). Quite a nice and useful little article.

You have been resteemed as part of #newbieresteemday ... I made today my #newbieresteemday, and invite you and others to do the same. To learn more: Come Join Us!!! (Newbie Resteem Initiative)

Hey mate, sorry it took so long to resteem (I was at work).

Hey, you were the one who helped me get some publicity for an article I wrote, I'm not gonna complain. Besides, it's not like I'd expect you to be on 24/7 (I'm sure not).

Anyway, thanks for the resteem.

you're welcome mate. Keep it up with the great content.

I've recently been infected with Coinhive on my website. I don't have any other external scripts on my page, except from the one I got from a certain Crypto ad network which I don't have access to. I'm sure they had nothing to do with it, right :D

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.20
TRX 0.14
JST 0.030
BTC 67657.28
ETH 3498.77
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.70