You are viewing a single comment's thread from:

RE: Stay Safe - Ian Balina hacked for millions worth of cryptocurrencies

in #security6 years ago (edited)

@culgin you did recommend using 2FA for my gmail accounts, but found it quite an hassle. Now it seems the hassle is worth it!

Alternatively, I did share (offline) that we could store our private keys in a n encrypted file on our desktop (no doubt for ease of access), but omit some characters and record them on hard-copy or remember by memory.

Also buying a hardware wallet online may not be safe either. There's so many scams and deception in this age that trust is truly hard to come by. But a least we know you can be trusted. Cheers!

Sort:  

2FA for everything possible my friend. It is the best defense against credentials attack.

Alternatively, I did share (offline) that we could store our private keys in a n encrypted file on our desktop (no doubt for ease of access), but omit some characters and record them on hard-copy or remember by memory.

This is a good way. It is a good balance between security and convenience.

I think at some point I will be buying a hardware wallet. Buying from Ledger or Trezor should be relatively safe I supposed? Then again, I won't be putting all my eggs into one basket. It is best to have a few wallets to spread out the potential damage if one of them is compromised.

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.18
TRX 0.16
JST 0.031
BTC 62471.79
ETH 2621.42
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.56