You are viewing a single comment's thread from:

RE: Linux Users in Danger - Secure your PC Immediately

in #security8 years ago

This only affects Debian based systems like Debian, Slackware, and Ubuntu. To affect the computer you have to have a Man-in-the-middle attack meaning that somebody should set up a false repository for this to work. I would just update my Debian based system fast as possible.

People, like me, using rpm-based systems (fedora, Suse, Mageia) should not be affected by this.

Sort:  

Yep, the

This is a huge vulnerability that affects every single Linux operating system, because the apt package is used by all of them.

...is overblown.

I thought Slackware has its own packaging system that's entirely different from .deb, or at least it used to be. I was a Slackware user in the mid-nineties.

No, I looked it up and you are right. Seems to be called pkgtool. My mistake.

http://www.slackbook.org/html/package-management.html

Most people do use Debian and Ubuntu.

Why keep this up? Why not say: "I overreacted."

You say overreaction, I say precaution.

Well, suit yourself.

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.16
TRX 0.16
JST 0.030
BTC 58418.48
ETH 2515.89
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.36