Password Managers, my two cents.

in #security8 years ago

I wrote this a few weeks ago, and I recently read a security post about passwords on steemit, and I'd like to share my post here.

Looking at the recent and past leaks of login/password databases, I think everyone needs a password manager, or to stop using the same password everywhere, but it’s incredibly difficult to remember a unique password for every single service you use.

With a password manager, it’ll generate a unique, secure, and good password for you. You won’t just be hidden from script kiddies that look at pastes of user/logins, but also outsiders who are trying to get into your stuff.

I’ve been using KeePass (free & open sourced) to save my passwords for the past 3 years. It’s locked with my master password, which is supposed to be the hardest thing anyone guesses.

Some alternatives are: LastPass, 1Password, and Enpass.

We’re all pretty stupid with security, and it’s easy and economical to take steps to improving security. There’s nothing wrong with not having a password manager, it’s your choice to leave yourself out there for security risks. But, there’s also nothing wrong with having a password manager. I’ve been criticized in the past that I am “narcissistic and egotistical” because I use a password manager, which is incredibly nonsensical. Security shouldn’t be exclusive to important people or to people in power, but to all who wish to be safe from risk and to those who want it.

Sort:  

Upvoted you

I’ve been criticized in the past that I am “narcissistic and egotistical” because I use a password manager

I find it hard to match password managers with narcism and egoism. Like really hard. But wait, did they think the password manager was a human, employed by you? That would make sense.

I was told, "You're not important enough", as if security only belongs to people who are significant.

They didn't think it was a person managing my passwords, I was talking about KeePass, I even sent them the link and how to use the program.

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.16
TRX 0.15
JST 0.027
BTC 60256.67
ETH 2327.64
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.46