You are viewing a single comment's thread from:

RE: Hardware Wallet Review: Digital Bitbox

in #security7 years ago

A really big thank you to @the-tech-guy for this review! I'm quite new in the crypto business but catching up on the news. On a Meetup in Bern, there was a giveaway of Digital Bitbox so I googled it and saw that this product is from Swiss engineers from ETH Zürich. As a swiss my self, I had to purchase it :-)
It's not here yet but I'm excited to test it.
Has anybody tested the "plausible deniability"?

Sort:  

You're welcome! What kind of meetup was that? Did you get a chance to speak to the guys behind Shift Devices there?

What do you mean with testing the plausible deniability? If you want I can check if the feature of hidden wallets works, but the whole concept of plausible deniability, respectively the success of this, lies mostly with your ability to sell a lie. If you can convince the person that's interrogating/torturing/pressuring you that the password you share is the only one, then it works. If they do not believe you, well...

What do you mean with "Shift Devices"? It was a Meetup in Bern about Blockchain in general, organized by Puzzle ITC.

Well yes, I mean the hidden Wallet function ;-)

Shift Devices is the name of the company behind the Digital Bitbox.

I just tested it and as far as I can see it works. You enter your real password, you get your real wallet. You enter the second password, you see another wallet. If you want to set it up just make sure to at least once look at the 'fake' wallet as well, because it only gets created on the first login.

ok, no I didn't talk with someone from Shift Devices, I think there was nobody from them there.
Thank you for your testing, I didn't receive it yet so I can't test it myself.

No problem. Please let me know when you do.

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.30
TRX 0.11
JST 0.033
BTC 64104.40
ETH 3148.52
USDT 1.00
SBD 4.25