You are viewing a single comment's thread from:

RE: Warning to users using third party applications - Be extremely careful providing your keys to anyone or any site!

in #security7 years ago

Thanks for the great info.

Yesterday I opened an account in Streemian. and I was asked for the active key. Why do they need the active key and not just the posting key, like @chainbb, for example?
I believe Streemian is one of the central applications in the Steem community, so I ended up entering the keyword. Perhaps I should have asked them first by email.

Is there a way to change the active key, or the main key, in case one has doubts like these?

Sort:  

You should ask them to explain what it is used for. My understanding is that it is a one time thing to add a new posting key to your account. You can change your keys to get a new owner key. Just make sure you properly save your updated key information.

thank you for your quick reply. I´ll do that.

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.19
TRX 0.15
JST 0.029
BTC 63643.10
ETH 2582.85
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.75