You are viewing a single comment's thread from:

RE: A safe word for my wife

in #security5 years ago

Very interesting topic.

I don't have much on cloud storage. I have a NAS that I would likely grab. That would cover all password and digital assets. As long as the kids and pets were OK, I think that's all I'd need to rebuild.

In the case of my demise, we have explained how to "crack" each other passwords/security in our wills. So, we are hopefully covered there.

The two things I'd lose would be some really tasty wines/alcohol's and some funky artwork on the walls.

Since you pointed this out ... since my NAS can be anywhere in the house, I should likely move it somewhere closer to an exit (it's currently in a closet in the basement)

Sort:  

I would like to get a NAS set up going, just don't have the resources at the moment.

There is a lot of Linux NAS, open source software, out there which allows you to make one with a "garbage" PC. Essentially for free if you can get your hands on an old PC and a couple of drives. Example of 10 here

I'd just recommend that whichever way you go, at least two drives, at least RAID1, with the capability to hot swap. So ... if one of my drive fails, pull the drive out, replace with a new disk drive. The NAS should recognize the new drive and automagically start rebuilding the mirror/stripe.

NOTE: I have two. One is LaCie brand and the other is Synology. In my opinion, they are both great and for my purposes, neither one is any better than the other.

I will have a look into it, thank you :)

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.18
TRX 0.16
JST 0.031
BTC 60728.44
ETH 2653.23
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.59