You Got a Few Bucks, But They Got a Lot More

in #security7 years ago (edited)

Me in Black and White.jpg


If you receive a check for a small amount in the mail from a random source, do not deposit it.


This is a classic trick by investigators and debt collectors. They send you a small check. When it is deposited, the transaction gives them your bank account information. Don't make things easy for them. Require a court order for them to get such valuable information.


Most people are not aware of the trick, and they are greedy.


You might think you would never be in a situation where this would happen to you. You pay your bills and you have no legal trouble, right? I thought the same thing. A crooked landlord, who sued every tenant I later found out, took me to court in the past however.

I fought the case as much as I could and delayed paying him the unfair settlement for years. My goal was to make him break even for stealing from me. It worked in the end, and he didn't make a penny after his expenses. Still, I spent $10,000 defending myself from a thief.


Everyone should have a rainy day fund in case they need a lawyer.


When this happened to me, I had to take out a loan from a credit union. It was very painful. May that landlord's karma punish him since I could not! Now I do better research on landlords. You should do the same. Are you renting? You had better do your due diligence on your landlord.


Most states in the USA are on the side of the landlord.


Everyone involved knew the landlord's case was absurd. It didn't matter. Look into your landlord and check for civil court cases they have recently been involved in, and run their credit too. My landlord was broke. That was probably his motivation for suing every tenant.


The above story is part of the reason I became a Private Investigator.


I hope the tips I shared will protect you in the future. Definitely remember the check trick. Don't fall for it, and throw that check in the trash!

If you found this information valuable, please resteem it. My primary goal as a Private Investigator is to help people. If you have any questions or comments about the post, please let me know below. Thank you!

P.S. For those who are wondering, that is me in the image. I was getting ready to swing my gada (mace).

Sort:  

Interesting and scum worthy in my book. Thanks for the info. People should always try to be aware of the tricksters in life. There are many. Like you, I believe in karma and this guys days a comin' if it hasn't already. No worries there my friend.

Huh! interesting

Sneaky, right?!

Thanks for sharing

You're very welcome. I will continue to share these types of tips and tricks too. Feel free to follow me for more!

Great, following you in order to stay in touch and send in my support. Will appreciate it if you do the same and check out my blog post...success

I have already been following you for a while. ;-) Do you use https://steem.makerwannabe.com/ to keep track? That trick was taught to me yesterday by @steemitadventure in steemit.chat!

Thanks, it works so good. Some people are tricky..they follow and later unfollow and you can actually catch them with this tool lol

I'm not sure how it is going to work here. My follower to followed on G+ was a 10 to 1 ratio. It will probably be more like 2 to 1 here from what I've seen so far. There's a lot of content that is worth seeing!

Gada is Hindi for mace, right

I believe so. I still need to learn more about the religion and history behind it, but swinging the gada is a damned near perfect exercise. I walk with a pack almost daily for my legs, and I swing the gada for the rest of my body. I also throw in some crunches and pull ups.

I really think this can't happen to me 😎

No bank accounts, right? haha

Good info,sir

Thank you! I don't like thieves, and the ones that use the courts in their favor are the worst. I think when I was a teen playing AD&D, we called people like my past landlord "lawful evil." lol

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.18
TRX 0.15
JST 0.029
BTC 62066.10
ETH 2419.11
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.66