Photo ID's and Your Home AddresssteemCreated with Sketch.

in #security7 years ago (edited)

McLovin Driver's License.jpg


McLovin had his wallet stolen, or he forgot it at the liquor store. Now who has his home address?


Worse, you're a single woman living alone, and you're asked to show your ID in a public place. Now the bartender knows your home address. Maybe you met a guy once, he turned out to be a jerk, and you never wanted to see him again. Before your first and last date ended though, he pulled out your wallet to check your ID. Maybe he'll pay you an unexpected visit later.

We are told by the Department of Motor Vehicles and the government that using a home address on our driver's license is required. Have you ever tried to put another address on the application form though? I have and it was accepted. The first step to getting this personal security tip implemented is to get a UPS Store, Mail Boxes Etc. or other similar service's address.

Once you have the mailbox service, you can then setup your utilities and other bills with the new address. Finally, those bills are used to "verify your home address" at the DMV. The DMV workers do not care. They are simply following the script provided to them. You have to prove your address, you give them the proof, and they issue your government ID.


My UPS Store address is given out publicly, and I have no personal security concerns because of it.


What do you really have by knowing it? Are you going to sit outside the store and wait for me to randomly check my mail once a week? I highly doubt you will. If you are waiting for me there, it is not at my home, my children are not at risk, and it is a well lit public place with security cameras. There are a long list of advantages to using such an address in other words.

Yes, private investigators, the agents of the government, and people who pay various online services can still get your home address. As always though with your personal security, there's no reason to make finding your information easy. You cannot stop utility companies and the authorities from having your home address, but you can stop a stranger or thief from getting it.

Speaking of utility companies, they have been known to sell your information. That's how places like the White Pages online get your address. People who are very serious about their security can setup trusts however to buy properties, and that breaks the link between their real name and the property's address.


Remember to answer truthfully if an agent of the state ever has your ID in their hand and asks, "Is this your home address?"


Disclaimer: What I have shared is just a personal security tip. I'm not responsible for how you use it or if you make your local government agents unhappy by attempting it. The tip is not fool proof either, but it does greatly increase your personal security by making the connection between your real name and your actual home address harder to obtain.

Added Bonus: Whether you take action regarding this tip or not, there's a simple trick to help you immediately. When asked to show your ID in public, put your finger over your address as it is held up.


finnian steemit.gif

Sort:  

... these are some real world tips we could all do with. People in general are very relaxed about securing their personal identity.

wallet.jpg

Agreed! There are some simple tricks to use, and then there some more complex/expensive ones.

What pisses me off is these data companies that make it almost impossible to get your information removed off the internet.

It's your utility companies. I'm very careful about my information, and that's the only way my home address could have been linked to me. At least that is what I believe is happening. I doubt it is the mortgage company or bank doing it.

When I buy a place next time, my bills will be in the name of the trust that bought the property. Boom! The easy link between me and the address has been severed. That's not cheaply or easily done though for most people.

That's a good idea. Who knows what company is selling you out. Utilities, cell phone, merchants, post office, municipal or county government, voter registration...

... like Farcebook?

Hey @finnian , I am starting a podcast where I interview other entrepreneurs, I would like to invite to the inaugural episodes.

The podcasts will be hosted on my youtube account: https://www.youtube.com/nantchev

We talk about what you are currently doing in life, your business as well as your journey and any lessons or advice you want the world to know.
A casual conversation about entrepreneurship, and about you.

I will check your channel out and get back to you. Thank you!

Edit: I subscribed to your channel. Do you use steemit.chat? Look me up over there to chat.

Not heard of Steemit.chat till today- what is it?

It is the official Steemit chat webpage. There's no danger in using it. I'm on there every day since chatting is much easier than replying to each other's posts. :)

I have signed up to it, but, I was originally thinking that the interview would be an audio one via Skype.

How would I go about recording something on SteemIt Chat?

Oh, I just meant to coordinate there instead of on here. :)

I understand. Go here instead: https://calendly.com/adriannantchev/entrepreneur-podcast
Pick your time and we'll do the interview.

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.17
TRX 0.15
JST 0.028
BTC 61651.16
ETH 2369.36
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.50