Spy Age!

in #security7 years ago

Recent years has seen a major upsurge in leaked documents from around the world. From celebrity photo's to important political secrets. It is evident that this Cyber world is not as safe as people think.

Secret.PNG

Page seperator2.PNG

Protect yourself

This is no easy thing to accomplish. With recent leaks showing just how invasive some technology can be, it has become harder to stay safe. There are many different things that people can do to stay safe, but here are three easy things that people can try.

  • Sell your TV!

Samsung seems to have built in a back-door into their technology that may be able to Spy on you. At the very least, be wary of SMART TVs. I only ever stream. Usually through a laptop that is connected to a 'Dumb' TV.

  • Never use the same password twice.

This has been said so many times, yet people still do it. Using the same password makes it more likely for multiple account breaches in case of a hack. The weakest link is often your e-mail so making sure to use different passwords can limit the damage. I personally use LastPass to help with password management. That way, I only have to remember one very difficult master password. (32 Characters)
https://www.lastpass.com/

  • Switch off your equipment.

A really under appreciated tip. I sound like my mother complaining about "saving electricity", but with ever more technology becoming potential risks, switching it off when not in use can be very useful. I never switch off my PC, but I always unplug my Webcam and microphone when I am not using it. Besides, maybe Trump was right about the microwave oven...

Page seperator2.PNG

Political hacks

I would be lying if I said I hated these hackers. I believe they are doing a very important thing by exposing corruption and lies. I believe that a lot of governments hide behind secrecy and confidentiality in order to hide their crime.

That said, I do believe that every person has a right to secrecy and privacy. It is your job to make sure you are safe.

Page seperator2.PNG

These hints are very basic and should not be the limit to your own protection. They are just some basic things I do that can be easy to replicate.

Please follow me @dracosalieri and start a conversation with me. I am always ready for interaction.

Signature.png

Sort:  

Thanks for this warning post. It cannot be said enough to use a password manager. I use KeePass, but I think LastPass is a little more user friendly. I suggest for important websites to use unique and complex passwords.

For really critical internet services, such like those where you have money, and especially those where you have crypto money; Use 2 factor authentication, ie after usr/pwd a code is send to your email or phone that needs to be provided as a second step during the signin process. I recommend to use SMS to your phone since email is easier to hack than SMS to your phone numbers.

For whatever site (no payment information, not personal details), I think users can work with more generic passwords, without being unique.

Yes! When using two-factor authentication, make sure to stick to Google Authenticator. It is probably the most secure...

Google is good, SMS is also good.

One more addition to this article...

Use Blockchain based technologies, Storj/SiaCoin/MaidSafe for distributed and secure drive spaces...

And i bet a lot more and coming soon...

There should a blockchain based Operating System for Mobile Phone and Computers soon...

We are entering an Ara now, that everyone will have a choice to get them self secured from other treatings...

Upvoted and Following...

That I can agree with! I am still very new to Blockchain tech, but it has immense potential.

Congratulations! This post has been upvoted from the communal account, @minnowsupport, by DracoSalieri from the Minnow Support Project. It's a witness project run by aggroed, ausbitbank, teamsteem, theprophet0, and someguy123. The goal is to help Steemit grow by supporting Minnows and creating a social network. Please find us in the Peace, Abundance, and Liberty Network (PALnet) Discord Channel. It's a completely public and open space to all members of the Steemit community who voluntarily choose to be there.

If you like what we're doing please upvote this comment so we can continue to build the community account that's supporting all members.

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.19
TRX 0.15
JST 0.029
BTC 63114.90
ETH 2626.13
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.72