Watchguard Firewall for Home use?

in #security6 years ago

I don't think that you can be careful enough with your digital security these days. Keeping your data safe including your crypto currency can be a daunting task even for people that know what they are doing.

I recently upgraded from a Linksys router to a business grade Watchguard T10 hardware Firewall.

It did take quite a while to get it working correctly, I have over 60 internet connected devices in my smart home, and that turned this project into a multi day head banging exercise.

However, now that I have it working I have a better sense of security. I am playing around with Kali Linux and trying to see just how secure my network really is.

I am running a second LAN for the kids and all of their games, laptops and printers that is on a separate network. I didn't want one of their friends infected phones to ever be able to touch my network with mining equipment and PoS servers.

Am I just being overly paranoid or is there other people out there who are installing business firewalls in the house?

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.18
TRX 0.13
JST 0.028
BTC 57431.51
ETH 3085.99
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.35