Anonymus, O Herre Gott, begnade michsteemCreated with Sketch.

in #secretsoforganplaying5 years ago (edited)

This is my entry for the Secrest of Organ Playing Contest, week 21 This week, the performance was right the first time with camera. The announcement however went wrong. I started saying it was my entry for the Openmic contest. I could correct that, yet stated the week number of the S.O.P contest wrongly... The camera is still a source of stress. Since the performance was okay, and it is the music that counts, I decided to leave it as it is, with misanouncement and all. I did say the correct contest word, so I hope it is still a valid entry.

The composition is from an anonymous composer. I took it from manuscript KN 209 owned by the Ratsbücherei in Lüneburg. I happen to have copies of this manuscript and intend to publish in the coming week the anonymous compositions from that manuscript that have not been published before. Somehow, editors want to put a name on a compisition. Perhaps it sells better. This is a somewhat shortsighted strategy, because as this piece shows, the quality of the compositions lack nothing, even though we don't know who wrote it.

This is really a magnificent composition, based on the melody of "O Herre Gott, begnade mich". The text is based on Psalm 51, the melody is not, at least not on the melody Psalm 51 has in the Genevian Psalter.

The melody is rather long and so is this composition. The melody is in the so called Bar-form: A-A-B. In this composition the first A is written for the soprano voice, richly embellished. The second A is played by the pedals, in long notes. The B is again in the soprano voice, though not as richly embellished as in the first A.

Another noteworthy characteristic of this composition is that in the middle of the B-segment the meter changes to 6/4.for eleven bars, after which it return to the opening 4/4. Probably an expression of the text, though I could not determine which words were the inspiration for this change in meter.

The compisition will be published on my site, together with half a dozen other anonymous compositions from the same manuscript. So, if you're interested in organ music, keep an eye on my Steemit channel, or on my website (http://partitura.org).

The recording was done with the Hauptwerk software and the sampleset, made by Voxus, of the Matthijs van Deventer-orgel in the Grote Kerk, Nijkerk (https://www.voxusorgans.com/en/product/nijkerk).

Sort:  

Excellent performance!

Thanks for the compliment. Much appreciated!

Posted using Partiko Android

This piece sounds like it may have been created by Scheidemann or Tunder. Not Weckmann probably. He is too serious. More like Jacob Praetorius II. Bravo!

I don't know if it's just the matter of phone speakers but when @laputis and I listened to this sampleset, it sounded like a real pipe organ...

I bet you would want to have historical keyboards and pedalboard as well...

Yes, the composer could be Scheidemann or Tunder. The manuscript contains works by both composers so this one could be just another one. Given the quality of this composition it is likely one of the great masters composed it. It deserves to be played and heard. I hope to contribute to that by publishing it shortly.

The sample set is very good and convincing. It is not the real instrument of course, but with eyes closed the impression on close.

And you're right: changing the keyboards is one of the things I have in mind to upgrade my setup in the coming years. I just need time (and save money of course... 😀)

Posted using Partiko Android

How do you manage registrations? Do you use the tabs on the Johannus or on the computer? Great performance.

Posted using Partiko iOS

Mostly on the screen. I play the kind of music that does not need registration changes very often. Though I do use the tabs sometimes. In my entry for the SOP contest where I play a fugue by Richter you can see me near the end of the piece reaching for a stoptab: that was to silence the octave 4 on the lower manual.

Posted using Partiko Android

For historical manuals and pedals you can use your Steem earnings, haha!

If that ever amounts to serious money I certainly will. For now I'm mostly investing in Steem and not making earnings

Posted using Partiko Android

What is the device you have above the 3rd manual?

Posted using Partiko iOS

That is my metronome. Very old fashioned, though it's an electronic device and runs on a battery. The battery is empty now and I just use my phone like everyone else... 😀

Posted using Partiko Android

Resteemed, your post will appear in the next curation with a SBD share for you!


Your post has been supported and upvoted from the Classical Music community on Steemit as it appears to be of interest to our community. We also support jazz and folk music posts!

If you enjoy our support of the #classical-music community, please consider a small upvote to help grow the support account!

You can find details about us below.


The classical music community at #classical-music and Discord. Follow our community accounts @classical-music and @classical-radio or follow our curation trail (classical-radio) at SteemAuto!

Delegation links: 10SP, 25SP, 50SP, 75SP, 100SP, 150SP, 200SP, 250SP, 500SP, 1000SP

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.19
TRX 0.15
JST 0.029
BTC 63438.65
ETH 2632.46
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.75