Anonymus, Da Jesu an dem Kreuze stund

in #secretsoforganplaying5 years ago (edited)

I decided to participate in the organ playing contest of Secrets of Organ Playing on Steemit.com.
It is one thing to make audio recordings of yourself, to make a video recording adds a whole new dimension to performance stress levels. Just the idea there's a camera recording my every movements makes performing errorless almost impossible. Needless to say this recording is the result of many many many tries.

The piece fits the time of the year. It is a beautiful choral prelude to "Da Jesu an dem Kreuze stund". The manuscript I took it from does not indicate a composer. However, judging from the other pieces in the manuscript and the overall style of the piece it could be written by either Johann Michael Bach or by Johann Pachelbel. If I had to take a bet, I'd say the composer is Johann Michael Bach, though I have no proof for such an assumption.

The recording was done with the Hauptwerk software and the sampleset, made by Voxus, of the Matthijs van Deventer-orgel in the Grote Kerk, Hijkerk (https://www.voxusorgans.com/en/product/nijkerk).

Score is available in an Edition I made, containing all chorale preludes from this manuscript: http://partitura.org/index.php/choral-preludes-from-mus-ms-30439/

Sort:  

Resteemed, your post will appear in the next curation with a SBD share for you!


Your post has been supported and upvoted from the Classical Music community on Steemit as it appears to be of interest to our community. We also support jazz and folk music posts!

If you enjoy our support of the #classical-music community, please consider a small upvote to help grow the support account!

You can find details about us below.


The classical music community at #classical-music and Discord. Follow our community accounts @classical-music and @classical-radio or follow our curation trail (classical-radio) at SteemAuto!

Delegation links: 10SP, 25SP, 50SP, 75SP, 100SP, 150SP, 200SP, 250SP, 500SP, 1000SP

wow really great
I love it ///
thank it
you are really good in that

Thanks for the nice compliment!

Congratulations @partitura! You have completed the following achievement on the Steem blockchain and have been rewarded with new badge(s) :

You received more than 5000 upvotes. Your next target is to reach 6000 upvotes.

You can view your badges on your Steem Board and compare to others on the Steem Ranking
If you no longer want to receive notifications, reply to this comment with the word STOP

You can upvote this notification to help all Steem users. Learn how here!

I love this chorale prelude and your playing is so calm. I hope you will participate next week too. Try not to edit the video. Do it in one take where we could hear your verbal announcement and playing right away.

Knowing how many times I had to record it before I had a more or less errorfree performance, I think I'll reverse the order, if that is okay by the contest rules: first play and then do the announcement.

Sure. This works too..

Posted using Partiko Android

Welcome to the contest! I think for next time, don’t have a cutaway edit after you state your name, etc. @organduo

Posted using Partiko iOS

The intention was to show the performance itself was in one take and not edited. Unless you count dozens of retries as editing; in that case I edited extensively... :-)

Understood, but it’s a rule so that entries can’t record the announcement and then drop in an old video. If it wasn’t a rule I could dress the same and just record my announcements and tack on an old video. Hope that helps.

Posted using Partiko iOS

I only realised that after you made your comment. Yes, you may call me naive. ;-)

And yes, I know the feeling of retries! 😂

Posted using Partiko iOS

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.27
TRX 0.13
JST 0.032
BTC 61994.03
ETH 2917.97
USDT 1.00
SBD 3.62