My pockets are too shallow

in #secretsoforganplaying5 years ago (edited)

Yesterday after our organ duet practice at the church @laputis and I went to the cafe and drank some decaf latte with cranberry cheesecake. Of course it was too sweet... Then she went to the school where she parked her car and I - to the postal office to pick up my long-awaited package from my friend @contrabourdon with his 4 organ CD's for which I paid 30.69 EUR in taxes. I was upset but maybe this is the theme for another post.

Along with this packed I also received my organ CD's from Kunaki.com. This is a self-service which let's you publish professional-looking CD's and DVD's for $1.10. Today I will take them to the gift shop next to our church where the supply of our organ CD's has been ending due to the rather high demand from tourists.

I unpacked @contrabourdon's CD's in the church. He also put two extra choir CD's and two world-famous Vegemite snacks one of which we already greedily ate at night.

Then I went to St Casimir's church to get ready for the joint organ recital "Fides ex Auditu" ("Faith from Listening") which is the opening event in the series to celebrate Jesuit's mission in Lithuania. In this recital participated organists from the Jesuits churches of Vilnius and Kaunas. Along with me there was Prof. Leopoldas Digrys from St Casimir's church who played Widor's Toccata, Dalia Jatautaite from Kaunas Jesuit's church who played the A Minor Concerto by Antonio Vivaldi which Johann Sebastian Bach arranged for the organ back in the day. The last on the program was Renata Marcinkute Lesieur who played Final from the 1st Organ Sonata by Alexander Guilmant.

69819124_1425118660974733_7583553454522499072_n.jpg

Between each of the performers there was some poetry reading from the output of the 16th century Jesuit poet Motiejus Kazimieras Sarbievijus.

I chose to improvise Sarbievijus Rhapsody. Sadly, the quality of the reading was such that I couldn't distinguish any words so I didn't know what it was about. Nevertheless I had to create something. My biggest challenge was at the beginning when I mixed up the manuals. The Great manual on that organ is the 2nd and I started playing on the 1st. So instead of Full Organ sound and flashy opening there came a gentle Flute 8'! But the listeners got their doze of fiery organ sounds nonetheless... After my improvisation a colleague remarked that it should have been the end of the recital.

70270857_2742740162425992_5932064432434708480_n.jpg

Before writing this post I made @laputis listen to the whole thing and afterwards asked for some negative feedback. This is what she said:

"After having listened to so many of your improvisations, there were some places which surely have been heard before. You have to learn new tricks."

To which I replied:

"My pockets are too shallow."

Consider using one of your witness votes on untersatz!

Run by contrabourdon and organduo—supporting the community with regular contests: Easy SBI Contest, Pinky and Spiky Drawing Contest and Secrets of Organ Playing Contest. Also powering the popular giphy bot and donating STEEM for deemarshall's creative contests.

Sort:  

Good thing you could improvise, that makes you a great musician! Not everyone who plays an organ can improvise, they usually need their notes.

They say, "an organist who cannot improvise is only a half organist..."

I need some new tricks too. Perhaps we can trade.

But my old tricks work on some feeble-minded people, haha!

You don’t need new tricks if you get new audiences each time 😉

Posted using Partiko iOS

Yeah, I might need some facial recognition AI software to weed out the regulars, haha!

Is this you? Wow. You look very handsome 🤗.

Posted using Partiko Android

Your post has been supported and upvoted from the Classical Music community on Steemit as it appears to be of interest to our community. We also support jazz and folk music posts!

If you enjoy our support of the #classical-music community, please consider a small upvote to help grow the support account!

You can find details about us below.


The classical music community at #classical-music and Discord. Follow our community accounts @classical-music and @classical-radio or follow our curation trail (classical-radio) at SteemAuto!

Delegation links: 10SP, 25SP, 50SP, 75SP, 100SP, 150SP, 200SP, 250SP, 500SP, 1000SP

Hello organduo!

Congratulations! This post has been randomly Resteemed! For a chance to get more of your content resteemed join the Steem Engine Team

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.19
TRX 0.15
JST 0.029
BTC 63651.41
ETH 2679.55
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.80