October 17, 2019--Practice Blog

image.png
Actually got a a good bit of practicing in today. The day started off a little later than usual. Last night, I stayed up until after midnight playing on online game called Knights of the Old Republic based on the Star Wars movies. As I had nothing critical this morning, it seemed fine. However, I did not want to get up this morning. I did have a chiropractic appointment at 9:30 am and then ran some errands before going to the church to practice. I drove home and took the dogs out to take care of business before going to my office around 3 pm. A lot of cancellations today, so I was able to grade a ton of papers and even plan for my lectures tomorrow--Film music for Appreciation and Instrumental Dance music of the Renaissance in Music History. I spoke to a the director of music at the church I play at about doing a monthly half-hour recital on the organ. He was receptive if skeptical about getting an audience. I found some time to practice piano before choir rehearsal and then came home to find dinner all cooked by my wonderful wife. We watched some Babylon Five, and now I'm getting ready for bed. Productive day!

On the organ, I spent time working on Bach's A major Prelude and Fugue, BWV 536. The Prelude is going well--all the notes fall fairly easily under the fingers. I am trying to speed it up. It is the fugue that is giving me problems. I have mentioned before that the first entrance of the subject in the pedals seems to be problematic when I am working on fugues. Same issue with this one. I can do it at a VERY slow tempo, but attempts to speed it up have been in vain. I also began working on the Finale from Vierne's First Symphony. Lots of notes to learn there, but quite a bit of repetition--thank goodness. I finished off my organ practice by working on the first movement of the Hindemith Sonata No. 2.

On the piano, I am happy to announce that I finally can begin new repertoire. With the conclusion of the recital on Tuesday, I have started looking into the spring for an all-Beethoven recital. It really should be "all"-Beethoven recital. I am relearning two Beethoven Sonatas--Opus 10, no. 2, and Op. 101--as they both have fugal endings. I want to begin the concert with the first two Preludes and Fugues from Bach's Well-Tempered Clavier so the audience can hear what a fugue does before hearing Beethoven's take on it. I worked on the Fugue of Op. 101 today, slowly relearning the notes.

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.28
TRX 0.13
JST 0.033
BTC 62873.38
ETH 3037.14
USDT 1.00
SBD 3.63