Secrets of Organ Playing Contest Week 38

in #secretsoforganplaying5 years ago (edited)

https://youtu.be/GOAQZfBa7q0

This is my entry. I played 'Jesu, meine Freude' by J. L. Krebs.

I didn't plan to record an entry for this week. But I came to Sts Johns to help @organduo to tune an organ. He unplanned needed to leave me with organ for some time. So I recorded it in slow tempo. I hope you will like it 😊

Posted using Partiko Android

Sort:  

It's a nice stop indeed and very suitable for this composition.

What I don't understand is: the image is the wrong way around. What in the video seems like your left hand is in reality your right hand. Did you film in a mirror? Or is it the front camera of your phone that is in mirror mode?

Besides that minor technical issue: well done! I admire your drive to practise and get better. "Jesu meine Freude" is a beautiful melody and Krebs did a great job in his harmonisation. Playing slowly while practising is what we both learned from @organduo.

If I might make a small suggestion? Try playing more from the fingers and less from the wrist. Playing from the wrist is good for the heavy stuff. This piece from Krebs is not heavy, and it would benefit from a more delicate touch. The clarity of playing you already have, would be augmented by a lighter touch in this piece.
I think.
It's for you to try out of course. and I'd love to hear whether or not it works better in a future recording of yours. If not, I'll take the blame... ;-)

Thank you for comment
About my camera: I don't understand why it looks like I was using mirror to film this video (I didn't use it). I used front camera.

Ok, I will try to use your advise. When I play this organ, I need to press keys a bit stronger than on organ I usually play

If you are interested, there is a classical music community (also supporting #jazz and #folk) at the tag #classical-music and the discord below! Hope to see you there!


Your post has been supported and upvoted from the Classical Music community on Steemit as it appears to be of interest to our community.

If you enjoy our support of the #classical-music community, please consider a small upvote to help grow the support account!

You can find details about us below.


The classical music community at #classical-music and Discord. Follow our community accounts @classical-music and @classical-radio or follow our curation trail (classical-radio) at SteemAuto!

Delegation links: 10SP, 25SP, 50SP, 75SP, 100SP, 150SP, 200SP, 250SP, 500SP, 1000SP

Yay! I like the Flute stop on the organ. What is it like playing this organ compared to the one you usually play?

It is quite different. On this organ I need to press keys stronger than on organ I usually play. Especially one F key (I hope I remember good). Also there are muuuch more stops.

Posted using Partiko Android

@drugelis you have received 500 ORGANDUO from organduo!
Trade the tokens on Steem Engine or send them to @organduo.voter with post in memo for an upvote!

// This tip bot is powered by witness untersatz! //

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.30
TRX 0.12
JST 0.033
BTC 64513.89
ETH 3155.04
USDT 1.00
SBD 4.00