Menuet I by Christian Petzold (Ahn. 114)steemCreated with Sketch.


I played Menuet I by Christian Petzold (1677 – 25 May 1733).
Christian Petzold was a German composer and organist. He was active primarily in Dresden, and achieved a high reputation during his lifetime, but his surviving works are few. He was born in Weißig near Königstein in 1677; the exact date of birth is unknown. From 1703 Petzold worked as organist at St. Sophia (Sophienkirche) in Dresden, and in 1709 he became court chamber composer and organist. He led an active musical life, giving concert tours that took him as far as Paris (1714) and Venice (1716).
More about this composer you can find here https://en.wikipedia.org/wiki/Christian_Petzold_(composer)

When I started to learn this piece, it sounded like I played this piece before violin. Then I remembered, that some time ago I played Menuet in G major, but it was by J. S. Bach. And sounds the same! Recently I found, that this piece was primarily attributed to Johann Sebastian Bach, but in reality is written by Petzold.

I recorded this piece using Green Positiv sample set by Piotr Grabowski. I use Flet kryty 8' and Flet kryty 4' stops.

Recording of this piece was challenging for me. I feel that I can play it quite fluently, but when I record, I start pressing wrong keys. And it is really frustrating. For me it took 3 days to record this video. I know, that it is not perfect, perhaps articulation could be better and tempo more even.

First piece, that I ever recorded, is Menuet II by Christian Petzold. It is interesting, that I recorded almos exactly 2 ears ago...


I hope I did a progress
0 16.jpg

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.19
TRX 0.15
JST 0.029
BTC 63183.53
ETH 2643.93
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.78