You are viewing a single comment's thread from:

RE: Tihar - The Experience - (Photos ||Videos || Timelapses)

in #seasonchallange6 years ago (edited)

I finally got around to reading after multiple distractions and it was worth the wait!

There are things that remind me of celebrations and rituals in other cultures too. The rangoli reminded me of a buddhist ritual where they create pictures with coloured sands, then sweep it up straight after. Some to do with letting go of possessing things. The lights reminded me of our Christmas lights. Some houses, even streets, go all out with their decorative lights over December. I'll have to do a tour with Izzy and her camera when they go up.

The money reminded of the Chinese New Year celebrations, when they gift money in red envelopes.

Thank you for sharing.

Posted using Partiko Android

Sort:  

Great observation.
Do you know that the birthplace of buddha is Nepal?
We have people here who are hindu-buddhist(they follow both culture but buddhist one more closely).Hindus here take buddha as one of their lords too. But we don't have much pure buddhists here only 20% or so.
We like to have fun and have celebrations in Christmas too around all shopping malls.

I am getting the hang of writing whatever I see nowadays and have started enjoying this. Lets see how it goes. But it hurts a little when not many people read your post that you put much effort into like this one.(But I guess this is what life is and I should get the hang of it too LOL). But hey, it was so much fun creating this post and I have to say I am getting creative(as I am mostly a very boring person).

Thank you so much.

I actually imagined Buddha was Tibetan. That's interesting that so few from his birthplace are pure Buddhist.

I know what you mean, it is disappointing when so much effort goes in and it doesn't get seen. I try to look at is as logging it down here, so it's recorded. Also, it's practise for our creative sides. ;)

It's funny you should say you're mostly boring, because that's what I often say of myself. As a quiet person, most people don't see the full me, so I'm pretty sure I come across as a bit boring! Lol!

Posted using Partiko Android

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.16
TRX 0.13
JST 0.027
BTC 59588.19
ETH 2572.25
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.50