Sealed - Chapter two

in #sealed4 years ago

What I saw was simply impossible. My eyes, which were always a duller gray-blue, now looked like sapphires against my pale skin. My lips were fuller and pinker, and, most surprisingly, I had wings.
They were silver and emerald green, with beautiful patterns and swirls shining across them. They appeared to be made of fragile scales and caught the light, creating a gorgeous shimmer. I reached back to touch them, feeling their sturdy surface ripple under my fingertips.

“How?” I croaked out. Amber laughed in disbelief.

“Can you close your wings? I want to hug my baby!” Mom screeched, throwing her arms open. A few tears trickled down her cheeks.

I frowned, twisting to observe my wings more closely. How was I supposed to close them?
“Try to talk to your Spirit,” Dad said, sensing my confusion. “Feel it. Welcome it; accept it. She will sense your needs, and she will help you.”

That made no sense. I shot him a dubious look, waiting for him to say “just kidding” or to actually give me useful instructions, but he just stared back at me, waiting. I sighed and nodded slowly.

I closed my eyes and tried to focus, but my mind kept flicking back to the burning feeling. And then I realized the burning feeling was happening again, deep in my chest. I narrowed my attention onto it, and the fire seemed to grow. I thought about Mom’s tears and Amber’s laugh and I smiled a little.

A soft voice whispered in my head. I gasped.

‘I am Shaira, and I swear upon the goddesses to follow you until our souls are no longer bound.’ The voice was sweet and soft. It shook me to my core and my breath quickened, but Shaira continued before I could panic. ‘Valda, I am your Dragon Spirit. A very ancient one, and if I may say so myself, a powerful one. You’re special Valda, and therefore I have joined you. You are my twenty-eighth host, but you are the first to awaken me from my endless slumber. Thank you.’

“Is this real?” I asked tentatively. “Or am I going crazy and hearing voices. I never knew that Dragon Spirits could speak in their host’s minds. And how are you a century old?”

‘Spirits live a different life than shifters do. I’m over 100 years old, but I am not old by any means. And don’t worry, you’re not going crazy. You can hear my voice, but that is common. It’s just not mentioned much. The bond between Spirit and Shifter is very sacred. You have not shifted completely because you are new to this and your body hasn’t adjusted yet.’
She seemed unconcerned, so I nodded, realizing a moment too late that I had no idea if she could see me. What she said made sense. I had completely forgotten that I did not completely transform yet, and only my wings have sprouted out.
Mom threw her arms around me, jerking me out of my thoughts, and only then did I realize my wings had vanished. I shuddered, not wanting to picture where they had gone. Not inside me, right? This was weird.

Shaira giggled. ‘Wait, did she read my mind?’ I thought.

‘I did,’ Shaira murmured. I made a mental note of that. I had nto privacy from her, which, strangely enough, didn’t bother me. It already felt natural to have her in my head, like a presence I could sense just over my shoulder.
I hugged Mom back. Dad and Amber joined in, making it a family hug. I squeezed them tightly, trying to hide my trembling.

“Her name is Shaira,” I whispered.

“Shai-Shaira?” Dad stammered. I frowned, but nodded. Was he afraid?

‘No, just shocked,’ Shaira said. I could sense the laughter in her voice. I smiled. Dad would have known about her.

“We should tell everyone!” Amber squealed, turning to the door.

“No!” Dad and Shaira shouted together. I flinched.

“Why?” Amber whined.

‘If you tell them now, there’s a potential for danger. You have no knowledge, training, power, or even a plan. You could be attacked. You could be killed. We could be killed, and I don’t want that. I doubt you do either. We need time so that when we act, we’re prepared. Just act normal until then. I’ll help you. And if you need to speak to me, just think. I don’t need you to speak to hear what you need to say.’

I nodded. “Okay.”

“What did she say?” Mom asked. I repeated her words and a worried look crossed Mom’s face. Amber looked even more scared, but Dad comforted them.

Despite the tense situation, a huge grin crept across my face. My family smiled back at me. I am the one. Despite my doubts, I am the one. It was an exhilarating feeling.

‘There are a lot of prophecies written about us Valda. We need to learn as much as we can. We need to gather information without others getting suspicious.’ Shaira’s voice was grim.

“Prophecies?” I asked.

‘Yes. Omens, too,’ she replied, but said nothing else.

“Where are we going to find the information we need?” I asked, my mind flashing to the book I’d hidden earlier.

‘I will tell you later,’ Shaira said. ‘Your dad can help us.’

I nodded. He could definitely help. I trusted him with my life, and I knew he could gain information without arousing suspicion. He was the town bookworm. And he would know who else we could trust.

Mom went downstairs to rescue dinner, which she had abandoned when my alarm went off. Dad hurried up to the library without a word, and after a bit of prompting, Amber gave me my space too.

I sighed. I’d just gone from ordinary Shifter who was confined to a life in human form to being the Chosen One, the one every teenage Shifter dreamed of being. I had no idea how to feel. How was I going to do this?

‘You’re more than who you think you are, Valda. One day, you’ll agree with me.’ Shaira’s voice soothed me, her soft words helping me breathe easier.

I fell back onto my bed, staring into nothing.

book-cover-4194807__340.webp

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.17
TRX 0.13
JST 0.027
BTC 58940.53
ETH 2638.80
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.49