I know, weird as f* ! (Thai food) #6 - It's called COCK(LE). It's a VAGIGI and so on..steemCreated with Sketch.

in #seafood6 years ago

SEAFOOD IN PATTAYA
Thai seafood eating style.
I got back from a short holiday in Pattaya just today. Went to beach city, of course, I had tons of seafood. So fresh. So good ! The way we eat seafood here in Thailand, probably a bit different from what you’re used to. Most of the seafood, we simply either grill or steam them. We dip them in seafood sauce (Lime juice + chili + garlic + a little bit of sugar) and either eat alone by itself or with rice.

  • COCKLES

Product : Grilled cockles with seafood sauce
Price : 180 Baht
Place : Pupen Seafood Restaurant, Na Chom Thian, Sattahip District, Chon Buri

My American friend said cockle’s weird so some of you might find it weird too, I guess. It’s called cock(le) but it basically looks like vagina and yes, it bleeds, as you can see. I honestly really like these. The texture’s not much different from oyster (a bit chewier, I would say), very juicy (bloody). ❤

  • SQUID AND ITS ROE

Product : Steamed squid and its roe
Price : 220 Baht
Place : Pupen Seafood Restaurant, Na Chom Thian, Sattahip District, Chon Buri

Squid is chewy like squid and its roe is soft and fishy like a fishy jelly. Sprinkled with deep fried ground garlic and also eaten with seafood sauce.

**Some of you who conserve may say no to it because of its roe. I do understand your point. We do eat this in Thailand and not much could be done about it. Sorry!

SEAFOOD DISHES
We also cook seafood in the ways we do with any other types of meat..


Stir fry CRAB with curry powder.


Spicy stir fry SHARK with herbs.


Tom Yum seafood.

Where to get good seafood dishes?
I’ve tried quite a few places in Pattaya – Jomtien Beach and I got a few places in mind I like, considering freshness, quality, prices and I would recommend you try them out!

The market right by the beach and not just sell seafood. They have ribs, Russian food, delicious fruit smoothies, etc. with very reasonable prices.

  • ตลาดร่มโพธิ์ (Talad Rom Po), Pattaya City, Bang Lamung District, Chon Buri
    Pictures above with Tom Yum and Stir fry basil, I got the food from here. There’s only one seafood stall in the market at the left corner (when you face the market) so you wouldn’t miss it.

A Seafood plate we got at Tawaen Beach, Koh Larn (a small island 30 mins by boat from Bali Hai Pier in Pattaya) For 200 Baht, we got squid, shrimps and mussels. (My American told me their shells look interestingly blue – in United States, they’re black)

Some restaurants in Thailand that serve seafood, they most of the time have all the animals alive till the last minute before they get cooked **To make sure they’re as fresh as they can be, like, this place on Koh Larn..

MOSMORE- WAYBEYONDPADTHAI

STEEMIT B.png

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.17
TRX 0.13
JST 0.027
BTC 60600.18
ETH 2606.88
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.62