Seablue Journal: The world is unconscious towards me.

in #seablue6 years ago (edited)

Early morning at work. The world is asleep. Even if I wanted to be with someone, nobody would care. The world is unconscious all around me.

Shops are closed. Houses are darkened. The people are sleeping and snoring their way through the black night. It is not that they don't care. They have left me and departed to the world of dreams.

I've been outside smoking my pipe tobacco and staring at the glorious full moon. Just me and the moon. It is my companion tonight. The moon doesn't voice its thoughts, but it signifies much by its presence.

The other day while similarly smoking a cigar outside, I was observing the movement of the shadows as the sun moved through the sky. It was important to me because I was finding the full glare of the sun difficult to bear. My little area of shade was decreasing by degrees and I was measuring the pace in my mind by picking points on the ground in shade and watching for when the sun reached them. The pace was imperceptibly slow while demonstrating with relentless certitude that my time in the shade was coming to an end.

In my mind, I was imagining the sun moving and it dawned on me how silly that was while watching the moon tonight. The sun is not moving. It is the planet that is spinning. I am the one moving in relation to the sun. It seems such a trivial thing, but I feel like some small part of me has been living a delusion by not being attentive to this fact.

Bringing this back around to the moon though, the moon signifies much by its presence and state. So I enjoy my time spent with the moon. Its voiceless conversation with me concerning the state of the universe, while the world remains unconscious of me. In the dark night, it is the light of love. Perhaps it is no surprise that it is often spoken of in the feminine. I shall call her 'She' from this moment on. I may come to love her company more by doing so. She may become my secret lover by night.

subtlety.png

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.19
TRX 0.15
JST 0.029
BTC 63501.83
ETH 2650.23
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.81