Reflections: My early morning walk on the beach

in #sea7 years ago (edited)

image

I don't often have the opportunity for a walk along the beach. I was plopped in the middle of the southwest desert rather than the glorious coast. So it's possible I savor the moments the discoveries and the entire experience a little differently

I've often wondered about the hundreds, maybe even thousands of sand dillars that wash up on this beach every day. For the last 20 years I've been coming here. I always get up early and that is very rewarding in the case of getting out on the beach. Nothing much has been disturbed for hours. The sea has made its deposit. It is there to discover and take away if desired. I have dozens and dozens of sand dollars at home I've collected from here over the years.

image

I enjoy watching the seabirds have their breakfast. A few calling gulls and the quick scampering curlews snacking on the sand crabs as the waves receed.

image

A few sand dollars may still be living. They are fuzzy purple discs with their thousands of little feet. I gently moved this one closer to the water. Maybe it is time for its life end I don't know but I like to think I prolonged it's life.

image

Barnacles tell me that some inhabitants have been floating tumbling or sitting long enough that they found a home on them. Such as this sand dollar. I also picked up a cluster of barnacles which had been connected to a stem of kelp at one time. One of the treasures taken away this morning.

image

Of course I don't get the beach entirely to myself there may be a few clam diggers, a lone fisherman , surfer or jogger and of course the seabirds I love nature, I love listening to the subtle sounds and even the silence. I enjoy noticing the little things. The tracks in the sand, a kelp leaf washed up, a few shells, the tracks made as objects are thrust upon the shore by the tireless waves.

image

Tomorrow morning will be my last early
Morning walk on the beach this trip. I always look forward to returning and recharging my energy from the sea. I always take a bit of treasure with me like a polished shell that has been tumbled until it is almost unrecognizable the cluster of barnacles and one last sand dollar. This one destined for a friend to cherish.

image

Most importantly I take my memories the luxurious feeling of sand and sea. The remembrance of a lost feather and tracks in the sand. Until next time.

image

Thank you grand and glorious sea for reigniting my soul with love of life.

image

Sort:  

Congratulations @karenmrobinson! You have completed some achievement on Steemit and have been rewarded with new badge(s) :

Award for the number of upvotes received

Click on any badge to view your own Board of Honor on SteemitBoard.
For more information about SteemitBoard, click here

If you no longer want to receive notifications, reply to this comment with the word STOP

By upvoting this notification, you can help all Steemit users. Learn how here!

Congratulations @karenmrobinson! You received a personal award!

Happy Birthday! - You are on the Steem blockchain for 2 years!

You can view your badges on your Steem Board and compare to others on the Steem Ranking

Vote for @Steemitboard as a witness to get one more award and increased upvotes!

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.35
TRX 0.12
JST 0.040
BTC 70753.86
ETH 3589.34
USDT 1.00
SBD 4.75