To the Depths of Jacob's Well (Cave Diving in Central Texas)

in #scuba6 years ago (edited)

Jacob's Well, in the Texas Hill Country, is a perennial karstic spring located on the bed of Cypress Creek in Wimberley. The mouth pumps out thousands of gallons of water per minute feeding Cypress Creek that flows through Wimberley, Texas.

The first mention of the cave was in the 1 850s when early settlers followed Cypress Creek to its source. Since then, it has been a swimming hole for generations, a gathering place for Native Americans and early settlers. It has also drawn many to dive the well without the training and experience to do so resulting in the death of eight divers over the years.

Jacob's Well is one of the longest underwater caves in Texas. From the opening in the creek bed, the cave descends vertically for about ten meters, then continues downward at an angle through a series of silted chambers separated by narrow restrictions, finally reaching a depth of over forty meters. This is the deepest point of Jacob's Well but the system goes much further back.

It takes special permission and the right permits to dive the system. Most importantly however, any team diving this system must have the experience and training to make it out safely. For those who have had the chance to dive there, I think they would all agree that Jacob's Well is an extremely beautiful system.

Enjoying my content? Please help support my ongoing efforts by always resteeming.
Don't forget to look through my other content - https://steemit.com/@liquidtravel

Sort:  

Wish I could get over my fear of deep dark spooky places long enough to live life and travel on a diving journey

Ha, it still makes me anxious, each and every time. But, I still really enjoy it. Sometimes you just have to push past it. Thanks so much for the upvote

It's amazing I wish I could go diving there, but my license only allows me to 18-20 meters.

Seems like a real adventure. Never been in a cave but been in some wrecks and the idea that you can't get to the surface strait away still spooks in your head.

I too really like to wreck dive. There are a lot of similarities because they are both diving in an overhead environment. But both are a lot safer as long as those participating in those activities have the experience and training to be there. Thanks for your comment.

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.27
TRX 0.12
JST 0.032
BTC 66251.96
ETH 3068.34
USDT 1.00
SBD 3.70