You are viewing a single comment's thread from:

RE: The Screenplay Logline - It's Your Pitch Tool!

in #screenwriting7 years ago

Do not listen to "screenwriting gurus" or anyone pretending to know they can teach you screenwriting if they're not working writers

According to Wikipedia, Blake Snyder was a successful screenwriter.

Brian never pretended to be a "screenwriting guru".

Sort:  

I am working writer working in Hollywood with actual credits. Everyone in Hollywood knows that Save the Cat book is baloney. Don't read books: read scripts.

Julie, I hear you, and I congratulate you on being a working Hollywood writer with actual credits. However, as Vcelier said, I'm not a guru or pretending to be one. I encourage everyone to constructively pick apart anything I say in the hope of building something better. The fun is in the doing - encouraging people to pick up a pen and start. Nonetheless, with respect, you lost me with your "Save the Cat" comments. To suggest you speak for everyone in 'Hollywood' is absurd. You're entitled to your own opinion. But please don't insult us with your excessive pretentiousness. Good luck in your future endeavours.

I should say, don't read screenwriting books. By all means, read great works of fiction!

I agree on the great books but I also think it doesn't hurt to do both.

Eh, I'm a working screenwriter, and the Save the Cat book is pretty handy to understand the basics of structure. I always use the lingo from that book in my meetings, e.g. "All is Lost Moment", etc.

If it works for you, use it!

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.18
TRX 0.13
JST 0.029
BTC 57808.87
ETH 3061.38
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.33