"Mark's Backend". Another scene from Bitcoin centric screenplay, The Apology

in #screenplay8 years ago

As promised, here is another stand alone scene that could be produced intepenedent of the main script. Thank you for all the positive vibes about my first sketch/scene from my screenplay, The Apology.
This scene sets up some new characters and would come in later in the movie/webisode. The audience would have already been introduced to lead characters Mark and Bob, and supporting character Nicole (Mark's girlfriend who breaks up with him in the very first scene). The character introduced here is Jolene; Bob's new girlfriend, who he will finally stay will-- he is kind of a ladies man.
The comedy here is based on only hearing a conversation out of context. It could be shot going back and forth between what Jolene hears through a close door and the Bob and Mark... OR as written, it is mostly from the perspective of Jolene and then after this the whole scene could be shown from Bob and Mark's perspective...
This will sound VERY naughty, as it should! Enjoy!


EXT. BOB AND JOLENE WALKING DOWN SIDEWALK IN A HIP URBAN AREA

A 20 something couple is walking down the sidewalk. Their body language is of mutual affection and a fresh new relationship.

                      BOB

You will really like my business partner Mark. I can’t wait for you to meet him.

                      JOLENE

Well you certainly spend a lot of time together. And on the phone and texting. If I was the jealous type I’d think you guys were gay.

                      BOB

Hah! Nope not gay. He’s a brilliant programmer; he handles all the database coding, API creation, and creates java and JS hooks that I can use for my html5 fields and UX.

                      JOLENE

Blah, blah blah blah… enough with the techno-babble. You’re way smarter than all the other guys I’ve dated, so unless you are talking about cars, football or drum sets, I have no idea what you just said.

                      BOB

I build websites you see, he builds the stuff that goes on behind the scenes that make them work.

                      JOLENE

Well it’s all geek to me.

                      BOB

Hah! Good one, I see what you did there.

                      JOLENE

Huh?

                      BOB

It’s all ‘geek to me’ instead of ‘it’s all Greek to me’. . . that’s clever.

          JOLENE

Yeah, isn’t that the saying?

               BOB

Uh, no; but hey, This is where he lives, unit 202. I’ll see you when you are done with your mani-pedi. The door is unlocked, just come up to the bedroom. We’ll be coding.

                      JOLENE

Oh is that what they call it now?

                      BOB

HAH! You see you are funny.

                      JOLELE 

(confused)
What? No, I thought it was called programming.

                      BOB

(realizing she’s not that bright)
Well, ya same thing I guess, —you couldn’t figure. . .with the context of . . . Oh nevermind.

                      JOLENE

(walking away)
Okay, see you soon. I better not find you cheating on me with him.

                      BOB

(Bob admires the view as she walks away)
Yeah, I’m not gay, I can tell because your backend really turns me on!

Jolene appreciates the compliment and giggles as she walks into the nail salon nearby

INT. IN MARK’S OFFICE/BEDROOM: HOURS LATER

Bob and Mark are working on separate laptops. There are large monitors on the desk they refer to often.

                      Mark

Okay, almost there. Even though you were an hour late, I think we can bring your front end web design and my back end databases together.

                      Bob

Good timing. Jolene should be here any minute. I’m so ready for you.

                      Mark

That sounds gay. I thought you said she wasn’t that bright.

                      Bob

Yeah, but I don’t care. She’s hot, and she’s really sweet. I think I could stay with her for a while.

                      Mark

A while? You mean more than a month?

                      Bob

Oh yeah.

                      Mark

Have you ever tried to explain how you design websites and coding?

INT. JUST OUTSIDE MARK’S OFFICE/BEDROOM

Jolene has let herself in to the apartment and is about to knock on the door but hears Bob say:

      Bob

She wouldn’t understand this at all.

                      Mark

Yeah, Nicole wouldn’t understand either.

POV Jolene. We watch as she is listening in and becoming horrified as she misinterprets Bob and Mark’s technical conversation.

                      Bob

Do you think they’ll ever be able to grasp what we do together?

                Mark

(gesturing to the complicated lines of code on the screens)
No my friend, I’m afraid this is something that must remain a mystery to them.

              Bob

Have you tried talking to Nicole about it?

              Mark

She might have an idea, but how do you explain the nuances of it all, the deep stuff?

              Bob         

Let’s stop talking about girls. Are you ready for me?

                      Mark

(joking around)
Oh yeah, I’m ready. I’ve been ready all day.

                      Bob

Good, Okay, just relax, I’ll take care of this part.

              Mark

Whoa what are you doing.

              Bob

You like where I’m going with this?

              Mark

I’m not so sure . . . oh yeah, I do like that.

              Bob

I knew you would. Let me just push out now, Okay it’s in there.

                      Mark

Hold it. That will never fit

          Bob

Just relax . . . I can make it any size.

        Mark

What are you doing, I can’t see.

        Bob

I’m pushing another one in. Just lean over here more so you can see.

        Mark

(Straining) Oh . . . Hang on, Hold this for me. If I can move my leg over here . . .I can almost stretch it . . . Can you meet me halfway here?

                      Bob

I can try, but you are in a better position

[Sounds of both straining as they stretch]

I can almost see.

                    Mark

Careful, I don’t want to lose what we have here. Ok, ah, I can make this comfortable. There we go.

                      Bob

Well, aren’t you the gymnast. I didn’t think you could do that.

                      Mark

You’d be surprised what I can do. Oh, yeah! . . .Yeah, I like that. I really like that! You are a front end artist. Let me give you another one to try. Hold on, let me move my leg back over here. Okay, push. . . Oh yeah, Oh that is beautiful! . . .

         Bob

Yes! It fits perfect. Is that the biggest one?

          Mark

I have some bigger ones that I can play with. Let me just pull this out -- from here, and if I’m careful, I can fit it in there.

                      Bob

I just love the way your backend takes it all in.

          Mark

I’ve really worked on this back end. Once I take it all inside, that’s where the magic really happens.

          Bob

Can you show me? You know how visual I am.

          Mark

You front end guys always are.

          Bob

Well you back end guys are so . . .

Jolene bursts through the door in a combination of anger, confusion and tears.

                    Jolene

I knew you’d cheat on me, I just knew it! But with Another guy? Do you know how humiliating that is?! I should have known you were gay. . .

[Another video can show the same dialogue from Mark and Bob’s POV.

Mark and Bob are sitting across from each other and can’t always see each other’s computer monitors. Now and then they have to lean over and stretch mouse and power cables connected to their laptops in order to see the program the other is working in before they push out the designs to the demo environment. If careful, Mark can roll his desk chair over to Bob’s side by lifting his legs slowly as to not accidently unplug power cables strewn on the floor.

Bob is working in photoshop and other visual programs and then pushing out his designs to their demo-environment so Mark can see the results. Mark is concerned that the length of the bitcoin addresses in his data base may not fit in the visual fields Bob has created. Bob can change the size of the fields that Mark will be using for addresses in Photoshop.

Mark is working with databases of long Bitcoin addresses, some are longer than others, but he has many test addresses he can pull out of his data bases to test with.]

Sort:  

Hey Doug, here are a few tips which might help you improve your results on Steemit.

  • Remember to include some pictures in the post. It'll make your post stand out more when people are scrolling through the feed.
  • Promote your post on Steemit Facebook groups. There are about 10-15 of them, and having a few hundred people see your headline can really help your post take off. Let me know if you want me to add you to the ones I'm in.
  • Promote it on the steemit.chat post promotion channel, and other relevant channels if you haven't done so already.
  • Post the link on Reddit if you can find an appropriate subreddit

I hope that helps you get a bit more attention for your posts.

Kurt

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.20
TRX 0.16
JST 0.030
BTC 65970.60
ETH 2685.59
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.86