Did you know playing Board Games improves health, strategy and social cohesion? The BoardGame WeekEnds

in #scrabble6 years ago

The Weekend Board Games

40172413_2198372683755196_5483711473555341312_n.jpg

Yesterday was a very exciting and fun filled day as I joined my friends for The Board Game Weekends at Puruke Games Inc.

What are Board Games?

39969547_1910001585759380_2016140219488665600_o.jpg

According to Wikipedia, a board game is a tabletop game that involves counters or pieces moved or placed on a pre-marked surface or "board", according to a set of rules.
Examples of Board Games include Scrabble, Chess and Monopoly.

Yesterday’s Board Games

40040059_2198373237088474_2605925038381072384_n.jpg

Starting at 01:00PM, I was privileged to connect and play Scrabble with some of my very good friends like Che Francis who is the author of The Weekend Board Games and CEO of Puruke Games Inc., Gevala Cyril who is the CEO of Extended Limits and his fiancee, and lots of wonderful people.
40042975_2198373280421803_4554022719519195136_n.jpg
CEO of Extended Limits, Gevala Cyril and his Fiancee

It was a great game and I am proud to say I emerged victorious in our Scrabble round.

Why do I play Scrabble?

I think it will be great if I shared with you some of the benefits of playing Board Games and most especially Scrabble.

  • Scrabble teaches me vocabulary and strategy
  • It’s helping to fortify social bond and cooperation as young people
  • Since scrabble is a challenging and competitive game, It helps to build intellectual capacity, increase self confidence and improve emotional wellbeing
  • Scrabble is fun!

I reap all these benefits each time I play Scrabble and one of the most exciting moments for me was winning yesterday’s scrabble game.

Monopoly

40093151_2198373063755158_890708172023529472_n.jpg
40055250_2198372840421847_1485020758324281344_n.jpg

From Scrabble, we then dived into Monopoly and it was really an interesting game. While my business friends were thinking of how to win the game, I used sustainable thinking or let me say “green thinking” to emerge the Robert Kiyosaki of the game.
For six hours, my friends and I laughed and played together and it was really a great day.

Like Scrabble, Monopoly too has a lot of benefits. Generally, Board Games have a lot of health and social benefits such as;
  • Better memory and increased cognitive functioning
  • Lowers blood pressure, reduces stress and reduces risk of mental illness
  • Speeds up responses and can greatly help in child development
  • Promotes socialization among people, etc.
    40051810_2198372983755166_957828653910065152_n.jpg
    Che Francis, author of The BoardGame WeekEnds and CEO of Puruke Games Inc.

Chess

Chess was great except for the fact that I know nothing about Chess. However, I have given myself two weeks to learn how to play Chess and of course, become a Chess Pro.

The take home message

If there is one thing I am taking back home from yesterday’s Board Games, then it’s definitely to buy my own scrabble, chess and monopoly so that I can teach my wife and kids how to play.
Participating in The Weekend Board Games was awesome and I will make sure I play these games with my friends every weekend.

If you think you are a great scrabble player, contact me let’s play online.

Special thanks to Che Francis of Puruke Games Inc. for starting this wonderful initiative in my community.
#steemiteducation #ecotrain #steemitbloggers #dynamicsteemians #earthtribe @steemiteducation @ecotrain @dynamicsteemians @earthtribe #wafrica
cover.jpg

Mr. Green is a member/promoter of;

Logo_The Greens+Slogan landscape small.png

Biodiversity End.jpg

echotrain.jpg

unknown.png

Sort:  

Chess is the ultimate strategy game...Monopoly is a close second for me. I love the idea of your event, wish there was something like this around here. Thanks for sharing.

Thanks very much and perhaps in the near future we can think of weekend online games.

I love monopoly! No one will play with me though lol!!!

I really love monopoly too. You will definitely find someone to play with in the near future.

This is great! We love board games at my house. My husband and I play chess (which I’ve only won once), dominoes and cribbage. When I was a girl I loved monopoly but now I find it gives me anxiety to play, as if I really owe money or something. Haha

Board games are such a great tool to socialize and create memories with friends and family from. Good luck in your acquisition of the game chess. It’s a wonderfully provoking game with just the right amount of challenge.

Thanks very much and i really look forward to playing Chess in two weeks.

I think you’ll enjoy it. Good luck!

Congratulations @mr-greens! You have completed the following achievement on Steemit and have been rewarded with new badge(s) :

You published a post every day of the week

Click on the badge to view your Board of Honor.
If you no longer want to receive notifications, reply to this comment with the word STOP

To support your work, I also upvoted your post!

You can upvote this notification to help all Steemit users. Learn why here!

Congratulations @mr-greens! You have completed the following achievement on Steemit and have been rewarded with new badge(s) :

You got your First payout

Click on the badge to view your Board of Honor.
If you no longer want to receive notifications, reply to this comment with the word STOP

You can upvote this notification to help all Steemit users. Learn why here!

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.20
TRX 0.15
JST 0.030
BTC 65353.52
ETH 2654.64
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.84