You are viewing a single comment's thread from:

RE: [Short Story] Brainchild: A slow outbreak of ESP threatens a floating city, populated by the last surviving humans.

in #scifi8 years ago (edited)

Bradbury meets Orwell.

It was an enjoyable read. I like the idea of atom configuration and independence of evolutionary form a conformity to a certain structure.
I think that the pace was too accelerated in the end. It sounded a bit unnatural when the “mutants” around the table were answering the protagonist’s questions the way they did. In my view, it would have been more natural if the protagonist would find out things slower, by staying at this “mutant” base longer and acquire this information from some flick or a book, banned or unavailable in his own floating platform. In general, I think you have enough development here to open the narrative into a small novel.

I loved your language use. Now I’ll use your story as a springboard to increase my vocabulary.

Unlike Bradbury, your style is a little dry and prickly. Perhaps, this is the consequence of some long brewed irritation to the misunderstanding that you’ve met to your ideas.

A tremendous effort all around. It’s one thing to have an idea and the totally other is to render it in a writing media when everything has to jive. I definitely will make your corner of Steemit universe my resting point from now on.

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.19
TRX 0.14
JST 0.029
BTC 63782.14
ETH 3146.14
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.55