You are viewing a single comment's thread from:

RE: Third Wheel Coming - (A Finish The Story Contest Entry)

in #scifi6 years ago

There were a lot of historical references in your story. I loved the fact that it offers so many suggestions for further research (Who are the Idisi in the old pagan incantation?).

Ulfric had no way of knowing, he was 600 years too late.

As you can imagine, this left a big question mark into my head along the story and I reconciled only after, with the final and mostly with your explanation ;-) I have to say that this concept of Ulfric's army being out of their time created a particularly original plot!

Sort:  

History isn't actually 100% in agreement on what the vikings meant by Idisi, they could be a type of valkyries, who can be called on to hamper the enemy in battle, they could have been like demi-godesses, or spirits of the dead. I do love history, this is what happens when I have the chance to get references in there, we get all of them! Yeah I had to clip myself plot wise, I wanted to have more at the end where they meet below the craft and have more hints about the alien abduction and loss of time. Sort of like the aliens were watching and borrowed the viking warriors for some reason, then put them back, not realising the passage of time for mere humans was so great. I am so excited for the next round now!

Next round is going to be a true feast.. My mouth's watering and fangs are shining just thinking about your first part of the story.

I think you will be surprised when you read it ;)

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.19
TRX 0.15
JST 0.029
BTC 62836.52
ETH 2558.21
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.72