You are viewing a single comment's thread from:

RE: Upload Yourself Fool!

in #scifi8 years ago

These are fascinating musings...

Have you read Frederik Pohl's Heechee series? He envisioned stored inteligences with somewhat limited function. Another of my favorite Sci-Fi authors, Jack McDevitt, has AI's in his books that are (presumably) non-sentient clones of individuals that can be brought up as holograms and conversed with after a person's death...

Like Woody Allen, however, I prefer to achieve immortality by not dying. ;) I think I've already shared with you that I fully expect to do so, courtesy of my God Jesus Christ. I find the thought of figuring out how to do so on my own quite beyond me...

Continuity of consciousness, what constitutes a unique individual, especially with respect to morality and responsibility, and related questions are endlessly fascinating to me; I've written some about these matters, and have a long list of latent articles yet to be written... Thanks for keeping me thinking! 😄😇😄

@creatr

Sort:  

thanks for the comment and the interest.

these subjects and more, are what keeps me reading about AI, simulation, and others.
i do intend to remain biologically alive, but i think i would get along swimmingly with a back up.
curing death doesn't seem an insurmountable obstacle.

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.14
TRX 0.12
JST 0.025
BTC 52760.21
ETH 2328.59
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.12