City 27 Chapter 1

in #scifi7 years ago

City 27

September 12, 2056 5:46PM
The rain started again. I can tell by the rain crashing on top of the bunker door it’s not too far away from a broken window. So that means it’ll start to get cold. I switched on the electric fan heater; it glowed orange and started to hum. I found it a week ago in an abandoned warehouse filled with electronics from decades ago; it’s like a pre-war ruined super-sized market. I live in a pre-war bunker that’s kept a roof over my head for about one decade and hope for longer, too. My little home is cozy warm and just home to me. It’s kept hidden so no one finds me.
I am an outcast from the people at my school--no one really speaks to me or looks at me. I feel like a ghost everyday I go to school, until I go to one class where I feel like I’m in a second home, which is art class. I mostly chose to be an outcast from the more better society in the real city. I live in the abandoned part of the city; it’s covered in scrap, raw sewage, radiation, and some headcrabs, but thankfully if I’m ever bitten I can be cured by the new vaccine that was introduced about a week ago by The Union.
The Union is basically the city’s government they manage everything--and I mean everything. I don’t exactly know if there are any other cities around the world; I’ve been here since I was born. I lived with my Dad in this fallout shelter until one day when I was about 10 years old he never came back after going out looking for food and I’m sure he’s dead. My father was a good man he always took care of me and provided for me in the harsh times. We were homeless. When I was newborn, we lived on the streets in the city but then my father got suspended from the city and was forced by Civil Protection to go live in the abandoned part where I am now, known as District 2. My mother passed away a day after giving birth to me she got very ill. I don’t really question myself everyday what my mother looked like, I have asked my father but he used to say that she was just purely beautiful. I believe him. I don’t know where I was born, but I do know when I was born September 18th, 2040.

When I mean no one talks to me I really mean no one talks to me. I go to Thompson High. It was named after a man who administrated City 27 when my Dad was a little kid and Doctor Thompson built a school after the Education protests in the plaza. There were protests due to people being able to repopulate once again after decades, but most kids were self taught by parents and so many kids kept popping up that schools were needed. Thompson High is a very modern public school and I bet you’re wondering how I can go to a public school being an outcast and having no family. My guardian, Theodore, lives in the low class part of the city. He works at a convenience store named Theo’s Market, of course he’s like a brother to me, a brother I never had. I don’t live with Theo because he can’t offer me shelter, but it’s fine. I didn’t even ask for shelter from him because I wanted to live in my own cozy home where I’ve been living alone for five years now, where I have provided for myself. 

Everyday when I wake up I mostly tell what type of day it is by seeing the sun split through the door of the bunker. My home is just steel and concrete with a small bed with a sleeping bag on top. The mattress is mostly either made into a couch and cushion for my back when I sleep in my sleeping bag. Christmas lights are lined up on the walls making the room glow of orange, yellow, green, red, and blue and they’re basically the one light source I use. Cans of food sit in my footlocker or a filing cabinet and only purified water stays in the Icebox. The floor is cold and hard and not dirty at all. I’ve kept it clean and nice for myself. I don’t like my feet being dirty in my bed. The only way out is by an extendable ladder not too far up to climb either probably about five or four feet up.

Sort:  

Dunno why the text changed but seems alright :D

Great article

Congratulations @alexander918! You have completed some achievement on Steemit and have been rewarded with new badge(s) :

You got a First Vote

Click on any badge to view your own Board of Honor on SteemitBoard.
For more information about SteemitBoard, click here

If you no longer want to receive notifications, reply to this comment with the word STOP

By upvoting this notification, you can help all Steemit users. Learn how here!

Congratulations @alexander918! You received a personal award!

Happy Birthday! - You are on the Steem blockchain for 2 years!

You can view your badges on your Steem Board and compare to others on the Steem Ranking

Vote for @Steemitboard as a witness to get one more award and increased upvotes!

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.19
TRX 0.13
JST 0.030
BTC 62832.46
ETH 3374.71
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.48