Christmas: Science Picture Challenge #1: Recycled Xmas Ornament

in #sciencepic7 years ago

Below I present my entry for the christmas #sciencepic challenge hosted by @mcw and @steemstem:

Science Ornament

star.jpg

I made this star in graduate school as part of a competition to create an ornament from recycled lab materials. The hook was a glass rod bent so that it could hang on a tree. The points of the star were created by stacking the leftover tips from vacuum filtration bottles. in the center is part of a P1000 pipette tip and the whole thing is kept together by dreams and a heck of a lot of parafilm. I forget whether or not it won the original competition, but I've kept it ever since. Once this contest was announced, this is the first thing I thought of.

Before I end this post, I want to give a big thanks to @mcw for starting this competition. I'm glad I got a chance to share this pic.

Sort:  

Btw, dont forget to leave a link of your entry in the comment session of the original post :D

Almost forgot. Thanks for the reminder.

Haha I recognize that was parafilm at the very first glance XDD
You also use parafilm? XDD I thought you are working in a bio-lab haha~

Oh yeah, parafilm is used for sealing plates so microbiology labs go through a lot of it.

Oh seal plates?! This is totally out of my expectation😂

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.16
TRX 0.15
JST 0.028
BTC 60249.86
ETH 2347.79
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.52