You are viewing a single comment's thread from:

RE: Food: Science Picture Challenge #2 - Treat your Berries carefully

in #sciencepic7 years ago

Hi.
I actually work with polyphenols in some of my projects. A little correction here:
"Tannins, Anthocyanins, Flavonoids" ARE polyphenols ;-)
Anthocyanins are a subgroup of flavonoids, and flavonoids are a subgroup of polyphenols ;-)

Sort:  

Holy moly thx for pointing this out. :D Correction carried out! :)

Good catch! Do you know if the polyphenols contribute to berries rich color. I know that molecules with high electron activity like in phenols normally are colorful.

yes, the intense blue/redish color of berries and other fruits (e.g. eggplants) is primarily caused by anthocyanins that accumulate in their epidermis.

Oh cool. This gives me an idea for more research because if I'm not mistaken melinin is polyphenolic aswell... Seems important

It is, yes, but I'm quite shure the chromophore (color-giving functional group) is different.

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.17
TRX 0.13
JST 0.027
BTC 61159.70
ETH 2631.81
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.63