You are viewing a single comment's thread from:

RE: Physics Out Loud: Broken Symmetries and the Masses of Gauge Bosons by Peter W. Higgs 1964

in #science8 years ago

This paper is realy hard for me, because i must looking for meanings of all technical expressions. I think that best idea is explain background with examples from real life and then you can explain more complicated results.

For example I found that:
scalar field is function R^3-->R, for example temperature
vector field is function R^3-->R^3 for example gravity
But I am lost at eqaution (1), what is meaning of greek letters mi, ny ? Some constants?

Sort:  

Hi and thanks for your detailed feedback. Unfortunately, I'm not sure if I can explain everything in the paper in terms of real life. Remember that it takes years of very specific schooling to master something like this. Here is my hope with reading this paper out loud: to give a glimpse of what the "high priests" of physics actually do, to allow people who absorb information more verbally to read the paper, to help blind people read it, to inspire people to learn more advanced physics, to show them how things are pronounced, and as an art form. Heck, if it helps someone fall asleep when they have insomnia I call that a win too :)

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.17
TRX 0.14
JST 0.028
BTC 58607.22
ETH 2616.94
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.43