You are viewing a single comment's thread from:

RE: The dog breed whippet can have a mutation in the genes that code for production of myostatin, resulting in the dogs having a huge muscle mass compared to other dogs from the same breed!

in #science6 years ago

I have read somewhere that Nazi were trying to do the same genetic mutation to produce super soldiers... But they never succeeded...I don't know if it actually true or just stories.
But one thing is true that Nazis were into human experimentation.
I wonder with today's gene technology, is it possible to produce super soldiers...

Sort:  

That's interesting! Now I need to google that to find out more about it. I'm not sure a strong mutant human would make such a big different in the WWII anyway, considering that most soldiers had rifles and guns, but the nazis did do some crazy stuff anyway..

I think super soldiers could become a reality within a decade or two (or maybe a bit longer), at least when it comes to technology. The question is "should we?" in my opinion. There's a lot of ethical problems with creating genetically engineered soldiers.

You are right about ethics, but I am afraid that the war machinery does not car about ethics..

That's definitely true.

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.16
TRX 0.13
JST 0.026
BTC 58961.27
ETH 2500.29
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.45