You are viewing a single comment's thread from:

RE: How scientific research gets published, and how you can know how to trust it

in #science7 years ago

Very nice article....
You reminded me of my MS Process Engineering Day....
I often used to read 10 - 20 research papers before writing a review report...
Yes you are write about abstract, it does gives the quick/ brief introduction helping reader to quickly decide the article aligns with his/her research interests!

Sort:  

Thank you! Reading 20 of these every day must have been pretty fatiguing, especially if you read the whole thing. A lot of scientific articles are really good, but there are also many that are excruciatingly boring :P

No quite the opposite....I wasn't boring at all, I actually loved reading papers. Its all about the passion...
e.g If I give you a long paper about ground breaking discovery in biology, I doubt that you will ever get bored reading it; because you are passionate about that field:)

Yeah, that is of course true, but it all depends on the content of course :) It just sounds like a huge amount when you read 20 every day; that must have taken so many hours. But as you're saying, it's nice if you are passionate about it!

Yeah it can be time consuming but I just love to read practices and ideas of people who share the my passion....
I am an engineer and it always intrigues me to read other engineer's work and methodology...Every time you read some one else's work you learn something new and unique...
And that's how science progressed over the ages; sharing the ideas!

That's true! Reading about how the great minds before you solved the issues they faced is a good way to learn a lot about the things you are studying. The method part is especially important (at least for biology), since it can teach us to solve problems in a different way then we normally would.

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.19
TRX 0.14
JST 0.029
BTC 64112.50
ETH 3174.45
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.54