AlienssteemCreated with Sketch.

in #science7 years ago
The Prospect Of Alien Life

The possibility of Alien life is still quite a controversial topic to many and the prospect of Alien life has been debated for centuries. But, the potential of finding Alien life is now greater than ever.


The search for extraterrestrial life has been long, looking for planetary bodies with the right atmosphere and right elements present to sustain life. Arguably the longest speculation of extraterrestrial life has been the possibility of life on Mars. This is due Mars being the closest planetary body to Earth which somewhat resembles the Earth in size and distance from the Sun. In the past, liquid water has thought to have existed on Mars which can now be found as liquid brines (solutions of salt in water) in Martian soil.


Another, recently found, planetary body which could potentially sustain life is Proxima b, which is the planet in orbit of the closest neighbor to our solar system, Proxima Centauri. The planet is said to be in the star's "Goldilocks zone", meaning it is not too hot nor too cold, hence the existence of water is a possibility, which means life on Proxima b is also a possibility.


Do you think there is extraterrestrial life? Why? Where?

Do you think we will find them in the near future? 

Sort:  

Do you think there is extraterrestrial life?

  • YES!

Why?

  • WHY NOT!? It would be really amazing and in my opinion implausible to live on the only biologically active planet in this huge universe ...

Where?

  • I don't know.

Do you think we will find them in the near future?

  • I hope so. :-)
    Thanks for the topic!

Great response, I agree on all fronts. :)

What to help search for aliens? Download BOINC and join the seti@home project. Want to get cryptocurrency for helping to search for aliens? Join the gridcoin team. Google gridcoin, BOINC and seti@home for info.

Hi, I actually had heard about that back in October. I own about $45 in Gridcoin :)

I put that here in case others that are interested in the subject but haven't necessarily heard about BOINC and gridcoin stop by. I'm a big fan and would like to see them succeed in the long run so I use any reasonable opportunity to give them a mention :)

I think I have in the neighborhood of $70-$80 worth of gridcoin but it has all been "mined" doing what I would be doing anyway so I'm pretty happy about that.

That's awesome! You should also check out CureCoin, it helps research for curing cancer.

I've heard of it but haven't really looked at it in much detail. I'll check it out.

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.29
TRX 0.12
JST 0.032
BTC 63423.66
ETH 3077.69
USDT 1.00
SBD 3.87