You are viewing a single comment's thread from:

RE: Four Generations of Silence--How I Solved a Long-Standing Family Mystery with DNA

in #science8 years ago (edited)

My Dad and Sister did an ancestry.com family tree search for as and found some amazing stuff. We have a Knight from the 1500’s and some really heroic settlers in the Upper Peninsula of Michigan. It’s inspired me to write some fan fiction about my own family here on Steemit. If fan fiction is what it’s called :)

Sort:  

That's really cool. There's a treasure trove of historical material in my family tree and my husband's that would make excellent historical fiction. I published my first novel last year, and its sequel is being released in October. I've got one more book in that series to write after that, and when that series is done, I definitely plan on writing some historical novels based on ancestors.

"Ancestor fan fiction." I LOVE that phrase. Genealogy is all about honoring your ancestors by remembering them and preserving those memories for future generations, so I think it's terrific to be ancestor "fans." I'll look for some of your stories!

I guess my kin were involved in the Fort Michilimackinac slaughter that was perpetuated during a lacross game. Lot's of angles I could apply to that :)

Oh yeah. That would make a GREAT story!

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.28
TRX 0.11
JST 0.031
BTC 69266.11
ETH 3871.54
USDT 1.00
SBD 3.72