You are viewing a single comment's thread from:

RE: The newly announced Earth BioGenome Project is aiming to sequence, catalog, and characterize the DNA of all living eukaryotes on Earth!

in #science6 years ago

Yeah, just imagine how difficult it must be to handle all that data properly! Maybe they should upload it on a blockchain? ;) Hehe

Sort:  

That's actually an excellent idea...I am sure blockchain can handle that much data easily and securely...e.g. steem blockchain...just imagine the speed!!!

I'm a huge fan of the blockchain and a huge user of genomic data. As implemented, putting these two together is a bad idea.

Can you elaborate please???

I'm actually learning more as I did a little reading to make worthwhile reply to you. It's looking like it may end up becoming a post - short answer is that it may be possible, but the data size means not on blockchains as we commonly use them now. The big deal is if the other strengths of a blockchain bring any value to the party.

Maybe you can make a post and send me the link. As a new learner, I would definitely like to learn the pro and cons of using blockchain in this real world scenario.

Dammit @xabi, you and @valth made me think and now there's a bear of a 2.5k word essay up on my blog! ;)

https://steemit.com/steemstem/@effofex/wherein-i-ramble-along-trying-to-think-about-putting-genomes-on-blockchains

While you are probably correct, it would be amazing to have a project such as this one published on a truly decentralized platform such as a blockchain. I suppose it's difficult to handle the size of the data though?

Yeah, it's the data size. I actually had drafted a reply to @xabi, but it's turning out to be a learning experience for me and getting too large, so it'll probably end up becoming a post.

Ah, that's cool. I'm looking forward to reading it ;)

I feel like I should apologize in advance.

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.19
TRX 0.13
JST 0.029
BTC 58000.61
ETH 3105.20
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.42