You are viewing a single comment's thread from:

RE: Having predators in your region will lead to several different benefits for us humans! Keeping them around might actually do us a lot of goods

in #science7 years ago

Hi, @susanne.

I don't think the Norwegian wolves provide any real benefit to us humans to be honest, mainly because they are so few and scattered. Most scientists consider them functionally extinct, meaning that they are so few that they have no effect on the ecosystem. They could have some effect on the local density of roe deer (rådyr), but hunters are generally able to manage these populations themselves. So I don't think this argument can be used in favor of keeping the wolves around. However, I don't think there has been a study on the positive effects of the Norwegian wolves, so I could of course be wrong with what I'm writing.

Best regards from @valth :)

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.19
TRX 0.17
JST 0.033
BTC 64216.73
ETH 2767.45
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.64